We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have family from NY - these bagels are gross”
Review of New York Bagels

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New York Bagels
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I have family from NY - these bagels are gross”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have family and friends in NY and bakeries and bagels alike are amazing in a good deli or bakery in NY. Trust me New Yorkers know their bagels and their lox. This place's name is misleading because they don't taste a thing like any NY bagel I have had. I don't know if they buy cheap flour to save money, lack on quality control, or simply don't know what a GOOD NY bagel tastes like. Don't waste your money. Go to the grocery store. Go get Thomas bagels. Heck Lenders bagels are better.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Lmlog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Half Price when I went”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I was a lucky guy to find their breakfast sandwiches at half price! However, I would have been just as happy at full price. The Everything Egg Bagel is the best in my humble opinion. I've eaten there before and you must get their before 9 if you want a dozen of your favorite kind. The owner said it is best to order dozens the day before by calling. Lunch is good in the summer too but they close at 11am in the off season.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A find for us!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We are New Yorkers, transplanted to Virginia--and during our recent vacation in the OBX were delighted to find NY Bagels--contrary to the opinion of other reviewers, we thought the bagels were quite good--in fact, as good as we have found in the south to date after 10 years of looking about. The poppy seed were our favorites, with cheese second. He does make a limited amount, so for variety, early is the way to go. We even brought some home with us, and plan on returning next trip to the beach.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhairedwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not great, but better than Max's”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We went here on day one of our vacation to get bagels, and they were basically like supermarket bagels, but with more variety. Searching for something better near the end of our vacation, we went to Max's in Kitty Hawk--which was so much worse that it made these bagels look like H&H in comparison (see my review of Max's). So unless I get up to Lighthouse in Corolla, I guess we'll stick with these if we want bagels in the OBX in the future. Hey, it *is* a long way from NYC...

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brian14leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing like this in New York”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Sorry, these are not New York Bagels! Nice try. Bagels just OK, very bready and too big for our resort toaster. By the time I got here after lunch time, there was hardly anything left to choose from. Judging from the "everything" bagels I bought - 2 whole wheat and 2 regular, I would not come back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank mugs4janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Bagels also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to New York Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing