We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food in outer banks”

Goombays Grille & Raw Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality food in outer banks”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Goombays is a family favorite when traveling to the outer banks. Very kid friendly with specialty kids drinks. I have not had a bad meal at Goombays. Would recommend steamers, fish tacos or pecan crusted grouper. These are some of are favorites. Excellent craft beer selection also. Service is always good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank docskt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    156
    46
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get the Tee-shirts”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I stop at Goombays EVERY time I go to the OB. One reason is their tee-shirts. I love them and think they are the best on the beach. Always buy 2 or 3.

They have a very varied menu and their nightly specials are fabulous. I must admit I always get the spicy steamed shrimp and a basket of fries. Several beers don't hurt either.
This trip I made the mistake of sitting at the bar since it was practically empty. Big mistake. Within half an hour it was packed with beach goers just coming off the beach. It would have been fine if I hadn't been with a date. Bar staff quickly forgot about us and migrated to the regulars. Steamed shrimp were still large and tasty and the fries just spicy enough. Beer was cold, but the Bloody Marys were laughable. Bartender needs a lesson from the Jolly Roger.
Finally had to practically beg for our check so we could leave. And they don't accept American Express.

Helpful?
Thank tatteredhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Half good, Half bad, with a pinch of Shady”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Half of my family enjoyed their meal. The other half did not. The good: Steam Seafood Combo was very good. Coconut Shrimp was good, but Outback has "good" Coconut Shrimp. For the non fish eaters, try the Spare Ribs, which were tasty. The not so good: Fish and Chips - you get 4 pieces that are the size of a McNuggets for $13. Requested extra crispy and was served soft and very bland. Used ketchup for added flavor. Been on the hunt for the best Fish and Chips in Outer banks. Didn't find it at Goombays. Kid's Grill Cheese was too well done-almost burnt. With a starving kid, we ended up scrapping the burnt part off. The Shady: Had a 10% coupon that was not taken off the bill. Unfortunately, we forgot as well until a hour after we left. Bummer. However, the part that that makes me cautious of Goombays.... On the bottom of the bill, they have a section for "how much to tip". Our bill came to $99 (after taxes and without a coupon). For the recommended 20% they suggested $22 and change. Last time I checked 20% of $100 is $20. Obviously, you don't have to tip what they suggest, but I wonder how many people use the suggested tip. With so many other restaurants in the area, I doubt we will ever go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BobTheFoodEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A meal to remember”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant for lunch because of an article in a visitor guide at our hotel. I had the tuna tacos as recommended in the guide and my husband had the NC barbecue. Both were utterly amazing. Also if you are a Mojito lover you will not be disappointed. The lemon blueberry cheesecake for dessert was delicious. I would return to the OBX just to go back to this restaurant!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, great food & great service”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Loved the coconut shrimp, spicy wings, firecracker shrimp, wedge salad!! The Goombay Tuna was great too! My daughter loved the Shirley temple - it came with a plastic shark which contained the juices that she was able to pour in her soda water! Fun & delicious! & don't forget a homemade desert! Turtle cake, banana split cake, peanut butter pie! Yum!

Helpful?
Thank Kadvia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goombays Grille & Raw Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Goombays Grille & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing