We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”

Goombays Grille & Raw Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Iselin, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visit the outer banks every year and we have been going to goobays for at least 10 years. We have gone with as many as 15 people or as little as 6 like we did this year. The food is always good with some innovative recipes,most meals have a carribean flare which my family really likes. Half of the people in our party always order the jazzy chicken which is really good and their scallops are some of the best I've ever had,even in much "fancier" restaurants. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating ...my family always looks forward to going there,it is usually the 2nd restaurant we go to on our vacation. Goobays is also a fun place to go to the bar and they have a good raw bar and steamed shellfish. Try it u will like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keljespat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    155
    46
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crabcake Salad introduced me to sriracha ranch!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Get the crabcake salad with sriracha ranch. it will change your life! awesome atmosphere - fresh food. our waitress (wish i could remember her name!) was a sweetheart!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent appetizers”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We were staying across the street from this place and decided to give it a try. We had a dozen steamed clams and the tuna appetizer. Both were very good. We will most likely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kit628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a rude dump”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went on a rainy Sunday afternoon. We were staying in a condo across the street so we walked over in the rain for drinks and appetizers. We were really excited to have a bar within walking distance. We sat at the bar and the female bartender barely acknowledged us and they were not busy-we debated right then whether we should stay or leave. She finally took our drink orders but quickly went back to the two men at the end of the bar. We had to flag her down for another drink and to take our food order. Had she been really busy I could understand but she appeared to not care and I found it rude that she swigging Red Bull from the can the entire time-real classy. We will not return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great seafood, but not much else to choose from!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I visited this location over Memorial Day Weekend. It was recommended by our hotel, and we immediately headed there! The food was excellent. The crab dip was amazing! My only problem is that I am pregnant and I have to be careful about how much seafood I eat, so I couldn't find much on the menu that was "safe." I ended up eating a salad and picking off my husband's plate of fish tacos (which were excellent!). The decor is lots of fun. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goombays Grille & Raw Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Goombays Grille & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing