We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, a little pricey”

Dare Devil Authentic Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunderland, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good pizza, a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We ordered pizza to go on a Wednesday night in Kill Devil Hills. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating. They had the pepperoni pie ready when they said they would, and it was very tasty and flavorful. I could tell the sauce was not just run of the mill.

The only thing that holds them back is that a one topping large is sixteen dollars. But other than that, this place is highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suppressor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    85
    38
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A dinner stop every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We eat at Dare Devil's pizza every year when we are in the Outer Banks. The service is speedy and the pizza is good. No, it's not Chicago style, and no it's not New York pizza, but for North Carolina, it is quite tasty. It is a very reasonably priced meal for a family, plus, they have good beer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic delicious pizza, friendly service. Don't miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Best pizza I've eaten in a long time! (And I've traveled to Italy twice, which trumps NY, just sayin'). We did get the pizza to take out, so I can't speak to the atmosphere except while waiting, and we enjoyed cold drinks, and smiling service at the bar. We were staying across the street at the beach club and I only wish we'd discovered how good Dare Devil pizza was before the last night, Ignore the naysayers and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This NY'er says this ain't pizza...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Maybe what offer here passes for pizza but this was a 2 thumbs down from my family. No taste, flavor in the 14" dough platter that's covered in I guess what passes for sauce here....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank liguy631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Kill Devil Hills for a week and one evening we were looking for a place to eat that was in walking distance for us from our apartment and thanks to Trip Advisor, we found Dare Devil Authentic Pizzeria. Now, we're from Naples, Italy so we know something about pizza and I must pay my compliments to the owner and his "pizzaiolo" because even though I had Greek style pizza the dough was just fantastic. Not only that, the toppings were real good. My daughter had extra cheese pizza and once again it was just great food.
The place was very nice, welcoming and I really liked it. Service was fast and excellent. For a blue moon beer in a bottle, two small pizzas, and a coke, I spent 35$. Maybe just a bit expensive, but because the quality of the food was great I didn't mind.
I hope to go back again next year if we come back. Until then I do recommend the pizzeria, you'll enjoy it. Buon appetito.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cap_x01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dare Devil Authentic Pizzeria also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dare Devil Authentic Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing