We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach-Fancy”
Review of Flying Fish Cafe - CLOSED

Flying Fish Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at Milepost 9.75 in Kill Devil Hills on Route 158 (Bypass)
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Beach-Fancy”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We were a table of 7 with two five year olds. The service was a little slow for children, but good. The food was excellent and they had a nice wine selection. I also enjoyed the Creme brûlée

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molarman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    71
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glad We Found This Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After eating in Nags Head restaurants for a week, they all start to run together. On our last night, we picked the Flying Fish Cafe from TripAdvisor. We were told there was about an hour wait, not unusual on a Friday night. The restaurant is not large, and there's not much room at the bar, so we took drinks outside to a nice patio area. We were called inside of an hour, and it was worth the wait. I had the local seafood Cioppino, details of which you can read about on the website menu. It was excellent and the service was very professional. I forget what everyone else in our party of six ordered, but they all said their meals were delicious. It's not cheap, but there's plenty of cheap food at other restaurants if that's what you're looking for. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tkdlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dug it”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to this place because it seemed popular and also because the coupon book from out hotel had a coupon for $12 off a bottle of wine. Tastiest dish was an appetizer of a spinach pie type thing topped with fried oysters. Entrees were on the whole pretty delicious as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Crab Bisque”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A cozy restaurant. Had an excellent crab bisque with lots of yummy bread. Hubby had a great shrimp & pasta dish with basil & tomatoes that he enjoyed. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel5bugEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner in the Outer Banks”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and brother-in-law stopped here after a long day of Outer Banks "day tripping" to Okracoke and back. We were tired and just wanted to have a nice local seafood meal. We were treated to some wonderful cuisine. I had the blackened Yellow Fin Tuna. My wife the crab cakes. And brother-in-law had the soft-shelled crabs. All were finely prepared, and tasted out of this world. Even the side dish items had special flare and showed some cooking creativity. Very nice presentations. Price was a little high. But when you want something good, you sometimes have to pay for it. They also have a fine selection of wines, which wasn't my main concern. A very good decor, location (if you a a day tripper or near Kitty Hawk)..and excellant food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Cafe also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing