We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy fish nachos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar

Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have been serving the Outer Banks, NC for the past 10 years, with our very own twist on food from around the world – and around the block.Our local seafood menu is designed to cover all types of tastes, so even the pickiest member of your party will find something they enjoy.We’re a laid back, fun and offer a casual dining experience for the entire family. We offer a kids menu, so everyone will find their happy place.We laugh a lot and smile because we enjoy what we do here. We hope you enjoy your time here at our local OBX bar and grill, and on vacation at the Outer Banks of North Carolina.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy fish nachos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Awesome food! We tried the fish nachos and they were incredible! Drinks come in collectible cups! Friendly, fast service. TVs for viewing games.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    190
    67
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mahi Anyone?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The food is always killer at Mama Kwans, and it's also a great place to hang out! My favorite dishes are the Fish Tacos, The Garbage Plate, and the Nachos. Nice sized portions so you never leave hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Superfly870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST FISH TACOS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am not a fan of fish tacos. At all. Actually I despise them. But I was kinda convinced to try Mama Kwan's fish tacos. i got them blackened. And then I sat in wait. The tacos were served kinda in a fajita-make-your-own-style. I liked that. Gave me hope. I, with the picky eater inside me screaming, put everything they gave me on that taco. I took a bite. And I went straight to heaven. Best Fish Tacos ever.... I highly recommend this place and its beautiful tacos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank darriqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kwan's never dissapoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The blackened fish tacos are phenomenal. I try to make at least two trips here when we are in town, and it is always wonderful. This place has great atmosphere. there are several other menu items well worth exploring like the seared pepper tuna ahi (app) the jerk chicken tacos, the mama's Hawaiian pork plate, and the garbage plate. Give it a try when in town and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mazefsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kill devil hills
Level Contributor
171 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good local grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went here for lunch for our weekly outing. Had the blackened fish tacos and husband had the tuna salad wrap. This place never disappoints!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chupakilldevilhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Mama Kwan's Grill & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing