We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had had time to go again!”

Stack 'em High Pancakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We are a family owned and operated breakfast restaurant celebrating our 35th season. We offer traditional breakfast fare such as Belgian waffles, buttermilk pancakes, french toast, eggs and omelettes with homemade specialties like Grateful Granola and Monster Biscuits. We proudly serve our own special blend of Morningview Coffee roasted locally in Nags Head. Our friendly staff welcome you to join us for breakfast seven days a week from March to November. See you at the 9 milepost in Kill Devil Hills!
MinneapolIs, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we had had time to go again!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place stands head and shoulders above other breakfast places both in quality of food and in service! Stack 'em high pancakes is set up semi-cafeteria style where you walk in, pick out any cold sides or beverages you'd like, place your order at the register and your food is brought out to you when ready. Usually breakfast food is breakfast food (which is tasty and difficult to mess up), but every single one of us who ate there remarked at how spectacular the food was - excellent belgian waffles, omelets, pancakes (they have several tasty options for add-ins to upgrade your pancakes), hash browns, etc. The employees are very attentive in terms of clearing plates and even bringing drink refills. One of us in our group was pregnant and the lady who was making pancakes that day asked her due date and then made special pancakes with a picture of a little baby and the due date. It was so sweet!! Love this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maikme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    207
    71
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“very friendly service and busy place”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stack'em High is very popular and has very friendly service. You enter via a buffet line where you help yourself to drinks and place your order. Food is brought to the table. Servers circle around very often offering casual conversation and hot coffee refills. This place is super casual and perfect for larger groups and families. In addition to pancakes, there are omlettes, wraps, belgian waffles, and other typical short order breakfast fare.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wkmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
214 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast and service.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Counter ordering with food brought to the table. Both times we ate here the line seemed long but, moved surprisingly fast. Eggs, omelets, and pancakes are all good. Food arrived at our table quite quickly and service, in general, was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joehadenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We weren't impressed”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My parents really wanted a breakfast out and my dad loves pancakes, so we went to Stack 'em High. There was absolutely nothing outstanding about any of our meals. It was $26 for my husband and me, before tip. Too much for the quality of the food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hbrittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cafeteria-Style Ordering”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I ate breakfast here during our vacation in OBX. She ordered the Greek Omelet and I had the "Green Eggs & Ham" omelet. We both enjoyed our meals. Although I thought it to be a bit pricy, the food was good, the staff was very friendly, and the service quick. Of note, you travel down a cafeteria-style counter, picking up drinks, fruit, etc. then order your entree, which is delivered to your table afterwards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stack 'em High Pancakes also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Stack 'em High Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing