We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay Pit...keeping it real yo!”

The Pit - Boardriders Grill
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Cozy, surf-themed log cabin in the center of Kill Devil Hills with a progressive menu featuring oversized, Cali-style burrito-wraps (including inventive vegetarian options), 1/3lb Angus burgers, gourmet personal pizzas, quesadillas, hot sandwiches, monster salads, and much more! Serving this robust menu all day, from 11:30am to 9pm.After 9, regional and international DJs spin in the ground-floor nightclub area. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday are Teen Nights, all other nights are 21 and up only, unless otherwise advertised. Live bands play our stage on occasion!
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yay Pit...keeping it real yo!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great atmosphere, great food, great service, great tacos on tuesday!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank tattersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had the wings and Rasta Wrap... awesome”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Love this place. Had the wings and rasta wrap and washed it down with a couple of beers. Wife and I had to share the rasta wrap as it it HUGE. Jerk spiced chicken, rice, black beans and pineapple. Didn't think I would like the pineapple in this, but it work!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sealuvr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“There's a reason the locals hang out here!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We've been going to the Pit for a long time, and have seen it evolve over the years from a "shack" selling shirts and boards, to the bigger building it's in now, to selling food and hosting music groups. They have evolved like many can't: by going slow and doing it right. Even though they've gotten bigger in size, it's still the same small-town surf hangout atmosphere. The owners are very friendly and always willing to answer questions about the local surf scene, or just say hello.

The food is a great deal for the price, although seating is limited. There's a reason why it's hard to find a place to sit, it's that good! I personally love the wraps, but the tacos are hard to beat for $1.

There is a lot more here than just food, so don't be surprised by the surf shop and nightclub.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice to visit at least once”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We went for lunch and got the tacos. The food was really good and the waitress (bartender) was very pleasant and quick. Pretty cheap and easy to enjoy as long as they are not busy. The place is tiny and can only seat about 5 groups comfortably.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NKAngelEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not Taco Bell”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Went there for $1 taco night, they were great! We wanted to go back but ran out of time. Place is really small though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carannbalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pit - Boardriders Grill also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Pit - Boardriders Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing