We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, high prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of JK's Restaurant

JK's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, high prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Filet was delicious, prices too high. Not good for average person to try to afford the food. We almost left before ordering after seeing the prices. Knew some in our party might be able to afford the prices. Someone else had made the reservations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    59
    28
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Locals Recommend......Sorry, I can't.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Let me jump right in on my experiences with JK's in KDH.

1. Prices high for what you receive. $26.00 for 2 skewers of grilled shrimp(10), green beens and rice pilaf. Food was good tasting...just overpriced.

2. Service was TOO attentive, at the point of being annoying...some people might enjoy the constant attention.....I just want to enjoy my food.....If I need something, I will ask.

3. DO NOT!!! EVER, EVER, EVER, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, ask to take my plate while I have a fork in my hand, and food in my mouth. My response to missy waitress.... "No, are you kidding me?" Our visit was very early in the season, the restaurant was certainly not very busy, there is absolutely no reason for rushing us to "free-up" a table.

Was hoping for better, left disappointed. I will be more cautious with local recommendations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty but crazy steak prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Service was very good. I had cobia with a chipotle sauce. It was good but the sauce wasn't very flavorful and the green beans on the side weren't cooked quite enough. The bread is commercial bread so I skipped that. My husband, who loves beef, had a giant ribeye that was $45! It wasn't worth the amount we spent and we won't go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The meal is excellent! We went 3 years ago on our last visit to Duck, NC and just had to return to see if it was still good. Steaks were done perfectily. Veggies were fresh and hot bread was delivered to the table. Wait staff were very knowledgable. Definately a place to go back to!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quality Eating Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fine atmosphere is second only to its dinner offerings. I had the petite filet mignon. I’m not sure why they left a large steak knife, as the fork was more than adequate to cut through the beef. Everything was cooked to my liking. I only wish I had a larger appetite as the dessert menu needed to be sampled. The restaurant is located on Rte. 158, which gives it easy accessibility. The waitstaff was friendly and helpful with the menu items. It is certainly worthy of a return visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JK's Restaurant also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to JK's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing