We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stick to tacky t-shirts” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar

Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stick to tacky t-shirts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We didnt enjoy AA. Perhaps they would give a better indication of the dump inside if they removed the Arthur's from the name. The place is overpriced and filthy. tourist trap would be an understatement. Beware

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    306
    123
    54
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful Arthur's=name”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend suggested this eatery so we went for dinner. The place was dark & very noisy. The setting is one room with a long bar with the 'kitchen' directly behind the bar. I ordered the trout with slaw & new potatoes. Baked potato was not available even though it was dinner. My friend ordered the seafood platter & substituted wahoo for the flounder. The wahoo was overcooked, the shrimp was fair. A food safety hazard was the very warm slaw containing mayo. :-(. The potatoes had so much parsley it had to be scraped off to eat. My trout was tasty. The major annoyance interfering with our meal was the cook staff behind the bar were yelling & slamming the oven door incessantly adding to the noise of the crowd! There was no reason for this annoying behavior. We recommend that time and vacation money be better spent at Sugar Creek or Owens.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vsd4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awful good Outer Banks seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were told there'd be a 90-minute wait (at 7:00 on a July weeknight) but we were told we could check the oyster bar for seating, and we found two spots right then! Good start and it just got better. Jonathan was the affable guy behind the bar...he was shucking oysters while he told us the specials and took our drink orders. We got our best seafood of the entire week, AND the best service. An order of steamed, spiced shrimp as an appetizer is a must. And when we asked if there was any Old Bay, Jonathan delivered a cannister in a hurry, with a smile. The catch of the day was tasty, as were shrimp, scallops and she-crab soup. This place rocks. Can't wait to return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonnyBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

After a couple of so-so meals I decided to try Awful Arthur's thanks to the recommendation of a very sweet cashier at The Gap. Oh my, what a find. I have been vacationing at OBX for 12 years and this was the first time I tried AA. It is a small place so the seating is limited. At 5 and 6 (yep, I ate dinner there back to back days and would have gone for the 3rd except for the torrential downpour) there was already an hour wait for a table. But, if you are willing to eat at the bar, you can sit pretty much immediately. The absolutely best crab cakes I have EVER eaten. The flounder was fantastic as well. The cole slaw and hush puppies are sweet and fresh. Although my platter was fried, it was not overly breaded or greasy but instead crisped to perfection. My mouth is watering just writing this!! The Long Island iced teas are marvelous as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank buffylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oysters everywhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We go to awful Arthur's every year. Our family really loves oysters and this is a place where u can actually order a peck of oysters! My son eats the whole peck by himself which is about 40 or so oysters. The other seafood dishes are always good,the crab balls are great as are the baked oysters stuffed with spinach ,bacon and cheese. There is a fun bar upstairs and they have great drinks. It's a fun really casual place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keljespat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing