We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar

Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just came from our visit to Awful Arthur's. We ate some of their classic steamed, spicey shrimp, while we loved the local spicey dipping sauce, the shrimp were over cooked so the shell was impossible to peel and they didn't devein the shrimp, so each one had a gritty load of gunk in their intestinal track as part of each mouthful. Maybe it's a NC thing, but I've never encountered a restaurant that served shrimp without deveining them first. Next came crab balls, their mini-crab cakes. Being from Baltimore, I have high standards that were not close to being met. The crab was squishy and tasteless and the outer coating was fried in something that has a very unpleasant taste, like the oil needed to be changed. We also had the lobster/crab bisque, which is just okay . . . nary a shred of lobster to be found. In terms of the atmosphere, we were seated next to the bathrooms, so the odor was always a factor as was the lack of cleanliness of the bathrooms, really needs improvement there.

All in all, a pretty poor experience I'm afraid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marylander6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    306
    123
    54
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hadley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Call the Health Department!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended to us while we were on vacation. We ordered our meals and were getting ready to take a drink when we heard a scream from the waitress at the table next to us. A large cockroach crawled across the floor and a guy at the table next to us squashed it. The people at the table on the other side of us pointed out more cockroaches crawling on the walls. Doesn't matter how the food was the place is full of bugs. The waitress was nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ordered the #3 combo which included clams, oysters, shrimp, crab legs and a lobster tail. It all tasted very good. Initially we worried that it might be too much food for the two of us, but it turned out to be about just right. We also ordered a bowl of pups and was impressed by its size. The service was quick and the waiters were nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yen-Yu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar, Kill Devil Hills, NC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good local spot that I believe is open year round...wait staff very friendly in a very friendly atmosphere....the seafood could have been good had it not been over cooked...we tried the steamed oysters ($14.95) and the spiced shrimp...both too over cooked...then as a back up we tried the fried trout sandwich...pretty good... Too bad they seem to over cook the seafood...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Awful" Awful Arthur's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

First meal came out 20 min before everyone else. My hushpuppy was not cooked "dough in center" and the BAD BARRACUDA'S GARLIC SHRIMP & CRAB was so greasy I couldn't finish it.
Sides of green beans and potatoes bland and greasy. The steamed shrimp and crab legs were good as well as the fresh catch teriyaki tuna ( daughter and husband meal). Not the greatest waitress. She spent more time on her smoke break than serving us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Awful Arthur's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing