We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food A Little On The Pricy Side”

Dirty Dick's Crab House
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food A Little On The Pricy Side”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have eaten in many seafood places in the Outer Banks, and find most to be on the pricey side, so Dirty Dick's Crab House really isn't that different in price. The food is very good as is the atmosphere. Be sure to get one of the famous, "I got my crabs from Dirty Dick's" tees.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Korky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    81
    68
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Place for Lunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We went here for lunch. The food was pretty good and the price is about what you would expect to pay. The draught beer is very expensive, which was the one negative.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible Service, decent food”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of being served by John, who was an amazing server. He anticipated our needs and knew the menu well. More importantly, he "wowed" our kids.

The children's portions were huge and came served on a frisbee. They enjoyed the crayons and using the salt scrub in th ladies room. The shark attack drinks were a big hit and worth the cost. The kids also had fun taking pictures outside.

The food was good and was what we expected from a chain restaurant. The prices were to be expected as well. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy_AGraham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average seafood”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere was really great. It seemed like an upbeat and positive place. The food was okay. Maybe I just had higher expectations, not sure. It was kind of similar to a Red Lobster or something. It was good, but nothin over the top. Gift shop was pretty cool and had quite a few different souvineirs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landonliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Better than I expected- will return”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

So I always imagined that this wouldn't be an impressive meal since it was a chain... wrong! I ordered the blackened tuna and it was wonderful; not fishy, cooked just right. Our waiter was friendly and made sure our glasses stayed full. Will certainly go back here again. The prices are a little high if you are on a tight budget but they are comparable to other area restaurants and certainly worth the price!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda-n-Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dick's Crab House also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dirty Dick's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing