We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of Two Meals”

Miller's Seafood & Steak House
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived at Miller's upon referral from our hotel. Our server was gracious, knowledgeable, and attentive. Our dinner - seafood bisque, salad, fried oysters for the husband, rockfish with lump crabmeat and hollandaise for me and bourbon pecan pie - was absolutely delicious. It was well prepared and the portions were generous. This is not a fast food restaurant- it isn't inexpensive, but it was well worth the money. We enjoyed it so much we returned this morning for breakfast. We avoided the early morning rush and arrived around 9. Though we were seated promptly and there were many empty tables, it was a challenge to find our waitress. Three other tables were seated and greeted by their server before we were approached by a server who needs to work on her social skills. The next half hour was an obstacle course of scorched corned beef hash and cold pancakes ( the butter I never received after asking for it would not have melted anyway) for me- a ham steak ordered by my husband was too tough to cut and we never saw the server again until the check arrived. We were quite disappointed-The difference in service and quality was remarkable. We will be happy to return for dinner and we will enjoy it- but we will have breakfast elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Thank islandturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

934 - 938 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We actually thought we were going to Miller's Waterfront when we chose a restaurant, which was kind of confusing that these places have a similar name, as we inputted the name in our GPS and it brought us here. I am not sure if they are run by the same family? Either way, we were hungry so we just decided to eat here when we arrived to it's non-waterfront location! The waiter was so nice, but the food was so disappointing. The meal started with limp wilted salad. The pasta dish had chewy shrimp, and the pasta sauce seemed as if it was straight from the can or jar. This would be fine if they weren't charging 20+ dollars per meal. The Mahi-Mahi was definitely frozen, even though it claimed that it was fresh local fish. The mango topping was fine. Again, it would be totally alright if we weren't being charged an outrageous amount of money for this type of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cdntravellinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersRestaurant, Owner at Miller's Seafood & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

It is unfortunate that you did not arrive at the destination that you were looking for. It is also unfair for you to hold us accountable for this. Our restaurant is family owned and we work very hard to please many visitors on the Outer Banks, to receive this terrible review is unfair when based on the fact that you were looking for waterfront dining, and we are clearly not on the water.

Yes, both locations are owned by the Miller family. Both locations also use the same seafood vendors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was a bit suspect since the parking lot wasn't very full, but we decided to venture in. The fish was fresh and the hush puppies were too delicious.

1  Thank fundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a quick walk from the Ramada and Comfort Inn hotels. We went for dinner the first night. Everyone ate all of their food, and was very good, but like other posts we were hoping for more. We are a very "fit" healthy family, who does not over eat, and even we were scrapping our plates. I had the shrimp and my husband had the tuna. Good food, but need lower prices or more of it. But I would still recommend it.

Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Amazing Alaskan crab legs, crab cakes so perfectly light n perfect crust, and the best hush puppies I've ever bitten into. Come here and you'll feel welcomed in a charming unique environment with expertise service and fine food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lilmissdagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Seafood & Steak House also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks

Been to Miller's Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing