We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the calories” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duck Donuts

Duck Donuts
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Warm, Delicious and Made To Order Donuts served with locally roasted Kill Devil Hills coffees,premium orange juice or milk. Breakfast sandwiches, muffins & cookies also available at this location.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the calories”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I must preface my review by saying I am not a cake doughnut fan but prefer yeast doughnuts and I am forever spoiled by having lived close by Lone Star Bakery for 20 years (Round Rock doughnuts - the best EVER). Having said that, these doughnuts were tasty and I liked being able to pick a topping but all three of my party decided not worth a return visit on future trips to the OBX.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdlmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    221
    55
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great doughnuts, not so friendly doughnut makers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The initial greeting at the cash register was great and very efficient. As we were watching the girls make the doughnuts they looked miserable and would not speak to you even when spoken to. They appeared to be robotic in their doughnut making process and could have made the experience fun. We ordered a dozen assorted and they were creative in their choices and they were delicious. If you are looking for great tasting doughnut go to Duck Doughnuts but if you are looking for a fun experience for the kiddos, move on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ready to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

These donuts were tasty. They were made to order which is nice when you wake up a tad bit late in the morning and are craving some fresh donuts.

Some of the toppings were a tad bit sweet for me but my hubby sure liked them. My favorite was just a glazed donut and of course the cinnamon/sugar toppings.
My hubbys favorite was the strawberry,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kschatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montross, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

There donuts were very tasty. Made to order and melts in your mouth. I wish they had some with fillings though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMundy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The toppings are added whilst you wait, flavored icing and different sprinkles. Still warm and very fresh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank galaxy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Donuts also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Duck, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Duck Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing