We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can't ask for a better location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outer Banks Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outer Banks Motor Lodge
Save
You added Outer Banks Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't ask for a better location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed with some buddies for 2 nights July 17-19. Good sized rooms and right on the beach. The 2nd floor has views of the ocean and the 1st floor is literally on the beach. Some ants and flies and make their way into the room since all the doors open up to the outside balcony. The room does come with plates, pans, glasses, and silverware. The deck overlooking the ocean has rockers and Adirondack chairs to sit in. On-site free laundry. Beds are ok, great A/C, the recliner is very uncomfortable though. The hotel is right across from American Pie, which is a great place for dinner and ice cream. When I come back to the OBX, this is where I will stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nothing fancy but classic beach charm, wood paneling and rocking chairs on an oceanfront patio. It's within walking distance of restaurants, french fry alley and enough things to keep you occupied. If you want to experience the way hotels on the beach used to be, give it a try. Just remember, in the '60's they didn't have all the fancy amenities the big chains have now. You went to the beach to be at the beach, fish, relax and enjoy. Slow down and check it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Family of four stayed in a beach front room with an effeciency. The access to the beach was great....literally steps to the sand. We saved money eating breakfast and lunch in the room (full stove, frig and microwave). The room is quite dated, but clean....beds a bit mushy. Good maid service, not sure how they get all the sand out daily! Teens could walk to stores and fast food nearby.

My one issue is that I am a non-smoker, and I could not sit on my patio rocking chair for long without inhaling other's smoke. Not sure how they could handle this, since it is outside, but it seemed like everyone surrounding us were chain smokers.

Room Tip: I was on the oceanfront room five.....I would avoid, since the sand shower is right there, so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Mom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We needed a pet-friendly hotel for our trip and this place suited us just fine. I warned the children that it wasn't the same level of amenities we were used to, but we'd have a reasonably priced place to stay, it was on the beach, had a kitchennette, and the people were so helpful. We'll be back!

Yes, it is an older motel but I didn't have to worry about tracking in the sand, which was good considering how often we went to the beach (at least twice a day!).

PROS - location right on the beach, good value, helpful people, free washer/dryer, pet-friendly (and we did pick up after our dog, even in the middle of the night when our little one had to go!)

CONS - rooms (esp. bathoom), on the small side, older decor (but clean), smokers light up outside their rooms, so you have to walk past them to get to the beach

SUGGESTIONS: get another grill, and another dryer - the two times I used it I had to start laundry the laundry late at night because others were using it. I just wanted to dry the beach towels before we went to the beach in the morning (that we used in the pool that evening).

BOTTOM LINE: Would stay here again . . .

Room Tip: look at the motel map before asking for a room . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in June 2013 and everything was perfect. We made reservations for the week of July 4 and upon check in we had a different room than we were told and a different price amount! Upon getting in the room we did an inspection and found utensils dirty and blood around the mattress protector!!!! After traveling 4 hours to get here there are no vacancies anywhere! So its either stay here for $600 and look at the street or go home :( I'm very disappointed in the fact that we didn't have the room that we reserved, the uncleanliness and the fact that its late and we are stuck! Ive stayed here before and never had any issues but this will be our last stay! The place is out dated and obviously the cleaning crew missed quite a few things in our room from linens with blood to dirty utensils to paint stained chairs that have oil stains to a roll of toilet tissue almost empty and a room door that wasn't locked upon our check in!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle_of_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I'm sorry you are still so unhappy that you decided to write such a review. In response to the blood on your sheets, if you recall our conversation we changed the entire bedding and explained how it was a simple marker streak on the bottom edge of the mattress pad for easier recognition for a queen vs. a double - you completely understood and said "oh ok no problem, we weren't sure". And that mark is not seen unless searched for. Also, $536.40 was the amount you paid at check in, not 600. Again, I am truly sorry for the confusion/miscommunication. The room you were hoping for was booked a year in advance and there were no other options at that time as you were originally bringing two pets. I hope you will accept our apology for the miscommunication. And thank you for trying to extend your stay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This motel is an older motel but has everything you need without the added expense of adding the things you really don't need, but rather want. This is our annual home away from home. we stay here every year and really like the atmosphere, the people, the cleanliness, the beach ! Want a great value ? This is the place !
Our only complaints are that the other visitors are not considerate - making loud 'party' noise ALL night that you can not sleep and the motel does allow pets - which is okay - BUT the other visitors walk their dogs close to the rooms and do not clean up the mess. Walking in dog poop first thing in the morning is not my idea of a good time at the beach. Not a problem with the motel regarding this - they provide a nice side yard - the visitors just do not care. Many diseases could result.
Personally, I feel the motel should return to the "No Pets Allowed" policy. We have someone come in to take care of our critters while we are away so why should others encroach on our peace with dog poop and dog howling all night. Just saying.
The motel itself is a great value with great people.

Room Tip: The beach front room are real nice to wake up to and see the beach - cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodysJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoot66, Manager at Outer Banks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to right a review. I'm so glad you were pleased with your visit minus the dogs using the bathroom in areas they should not. I am so sorry you found yourself walking around and maybe even thru poop. Because you have brought this to my attention we have since gone out and stomped the pavement scooping up any such problem. This pet friendly policy is something in question. I have so many guests who take care of their pets and are considerate of others however it only takes that 1 or 2 to ruin it for so many others. Again thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Good location
Clean
Quiet

Cons:
Outdated decor and furniture
Small Rooms


Very old 70s type motel with 90s style decor. We only needed a place to sleep and shower, so the lodge served its purpose. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncsouthpawdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motor Lodge

Property: Outer Banks Motor Lodge
Address: 1509 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7753
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a world of sand, surf, sun and fun at The Outer Banks Motor Lodge, a quaint oceanfront motel nestled on the beach in Kill Devil Hills. We are conveniently located and easy to find, with several restaurants within walking distance; close to all the OBX attractions in nearby Nags Head, Kitty Hawk, Duck and Roanoke Island. Our motel offers an inviting family atmosphere, warm hospitality, a friendly staff and clean spacious oceanfront lodging. There are a wide variety of rooms to choose from – including oceanfront, poolside, efficiencies and pet friendly-rooms. Our rates are affordable and a great value. The Outer Banks Motor Lodge offers many great amenities. Enjoy our beautiful beaches, the outdoor pool and our picnic and playground area, free wireless internet, guest laundry & vending. Family owned and operated, we know you will enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Motor Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Outer Banks Hotel
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motor Lodge NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing