We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so "In" at the Inn”
Review of Outer Banks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outer Banks Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so "In" at the Inn”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The "Not so good"

Musty moldy smell when you walk into the Inn. (Not so good for my allergies). When we got to the room, the bottom hinge of the door had no screws! Here's a good comment --->But management fixed it promptly. Musty smell in room as well. Beds were too hard for my liking. But then again I am not a hard & firm bed person. So this may be ok for you. After a night on the town and a not so good nights sleep, even with my own pillow & from being able to hear people come up the stairs, we stayed in a room next to the stairs & when waking up could hear people in hallway from inside the room. Not too sound proof or private feeling! We had a room with a king sized bed and it was kinda cramped (bulky dated furniture). Table in room was not sturdy. Not too many accessable electrical outlets that were "handy" local to the bed. The bathroom faucet when taking showers, would come out of the wall! Water pressure not the best and took time for water to get to the right temp. The second night I did not sleep on my pillow and woke up with a slight rash on my cheeks? I am not allergic to many things but that was a signifier to possible bug problem, as I am not allergic to washing soaps. Then again I don't know what they wash their linens in. Saw some gnats flying around in our room and we didn't have anything really sitting out, we had fresh fruit in our carryall bag but nothing that would have spoiled to get gnats. Complimentary breakfast was just little yogurts, mini bagels, toast, cereal, juice & coffee. Coffee was so-so. I had a yogurt and then we went to a local place called Stackem' High Pancakes which was good!

Here's the plus side of this hotel

Management was friendly & prompt on fixing the door. Overall clean & organized. Decor was a little dated but had some nice beachy scenes being that it was not on beachfront property. Flat screen tv where we retired for a late football game & other tv shows was nice for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Megan - I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve. I do apologize for the odor you seemed to encounter. Beach hotels can be a challenge to this regard however we will certainly look into this issue. I can assure you we are inspected monthly and consistently and preemptively treat to prevent any sort of bugs. We use all Proctor and Gamble cleaning products so our linen is washed in Tide. I am happy to hear that the maintenance staff was so responsive. I sincerely do apologize for the issues you encountered and promise to investigate and correct any issues that may present. We are continually striving to be the best hotel in this area so we hope you would consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    111
    47
    17
    8
See reviews for
99
108
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The inn is average ..not worth paying more than 90 dollars.
There is a certain damp smell as one enters the corridor and the room,the building seems pretty older compared to many on the outer banks.
Location is good with the beach and stores around being very close by and a convenient shuttle for use.Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhargavi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I sincerely apologize that you didn't seem to enjoy your stay. I appreciate the kind words with regard to the location and staff. We will certainly look into your concerns as it is our goal for every guest to have an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is an older hotel. Our room smelled musty and had a faint urine odor. The carpet was old and stained. On the plus side the staff was helpful and friendly. Great location,close to the beach with convenient shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Celia, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our rooms should never have a musty feel and the carpet is new as of last year. I will certainly make sure I check on the rooms to ensure this does not happen again. I sincerely apologize and hope that you would consider us in the future as this is not the norm for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice spot close to everything you need especially if staying in the off season. Was there last weekend stayed two nights. They even let us check in early. Decent place for a nice price! Will probably be our October tradition!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyE0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words and we certainly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The reviews said this was one of the best on the Outer Banks NOT!!! Three floors no elevator, room smelled musty, carpet was dirty with stains, shower mat had mold on it, toilet was loose and move, soap film on the shower walls along with someone one black hair.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Richard I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and encountered these issues. We typically receive very positive feedback and work very hard to correct mistakes when they do happen. I am not one to make any kind of excuses however do sincerely apologize. I will make it a point to trace back and find the room you were in and ensure any issues are corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on October 6th and 7th and we just love it here,we were referred by Richard Sedlar,Chief engineer whom we met at another hotel we were staying in kitty hawk,we were going to stay longer at the other hotel,but we were just not happy there,it was problem after problem,so we had a problem with the plumbing in the bathroom and then we met Richard whom fixed the problem,but we still didn't want to stay,so he recommended The Outer banks Inn and told us about it so we went up there and looked at the room and the place and we were sold,he was very helpful and we checked in and glad we did,we felt very welcomed and just felt very comfortable there,Gail I believe that was her name(with glasses) was very friendly and just pleasent ,and Emily also and we had a tiny issue and the General manager Joshua was more than generous to help us.we even cooked out on the barbecue grill and was just nice,and the pool was clean and the beach was close by and the rates was very reasonable..the room was quiet and clean,and we will definetly be back,thank you all for making our stay here a great one!

Room Tip: the first floor was quiet as we thought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Bill I am so glad you were able to find our hotel and enjoyed your stay. I certainly remember you and am glad our staff made a good impression. We do hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hubby and I stayed at the Outerbanks Inn for the last weekend in September. The front desk clerk was cheery and check in was a breeze. Our room was on the 1st floor and we entered from the side door. The flooring seemed a bit uneven to me as we proceeded to our room next to the ice machine. Immediately I thought red flag but that was not a concern. However, in the bathroom was a dead bug on the floor behind the door. I was annoyed but the hubby removed the bug and told me not to fret about it. We thoroughly checked the room, bed and sheets. They were clean so I felt at ease. The bathroom shower head was detachable so you can spray your body with the water. Our stay was pleasant and the Inn was conveniently located. We were able to drive to three lighthouses in one day. I will definitely stay at the Outerbanks Inn again. I would have given 5 stars but there are more renovations needed in my opinion.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lovely4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your feedback. Feedback only helps us improve. I am sorry for your discovery when first entering the room as this is never acceptable. I am pleased to hear the rooms was fresh and clean. We do work with a local company to help aid us in controlling pests however sometimes they slip through. I appreciate your understanding. We are planning more renovations as the owner likes to pick areas to improve each off season. I do hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kill Devil Hills hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Inn

Property: Outer Banks Inn
Address: 1003 S Croatan Hwy, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8706
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiles are contagious, and courteous service is our standard. Our staff cares about your needs and will ensure that your visit is a very pleasant and memorable one. The Outer Banks Inn is nestled at MP 9 in the heart of Kill Devil Hills, NC. Let our experienced staff do the work for you. With our state of the art beach shuttle, trips to the beach are easy and hassle free. Let our front desk staff know when you are ready for a ride. Enjoy our continental breakfast, fresh every morning in the lobby. We are also pleased to offer Bath & Body Works bath amenities and LG flat screen televisions in every room. Relax by our outdoor pool, or just relax on the beach.We know the area and would love to assist you with your plans and activities during your stay. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey’s Ridge State Park is right up the road and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is about a mile away. There are many restaurants close by and we will help you find the perfect match for a great evening out.The Outer Banks Inn truly cares about your satisfaction and we welcome any suggestions that might help us improve our service to you. We appreciate the opportunity to present our hotel to you. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. If you are looking for a memorable experience for the entire family, the Outer Banks Inn is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outer Banks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Inn NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing