We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Milepost 9
Grandy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My Mom is 75 and had never eaten at a Five Guys before...I took her and she loved it! The food is great, the service is awesome. Every order is prepared fresh, so you know that your burger hasn't been sitting under a heat light for a while. Thanks for a great lunch with my Mom.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Obxpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    66
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best custom burger in OBX”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I like a good burger. 5 guys fits the bill. My burger with barbeque sauce, sauteed onions, bacon and cheese was delish! Don't forger their oversized order of boardwalk fries complete with malt vinegar.

Helpful?
Thank TraceyOs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
312 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Our third visit in as many OBX stays. Great burgers and fries and the Coke Freestyle unit is a hit. Prices consistent with Five Guys system make Five Guys OBX a vacation bargain. Four Burgers with a huge order of fries and soda is just south of 40 bucks. A bonus: no tipping though a jar is there and we do. Service is good and the place is always busy.

Helpful?
Thank CandyMan627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great burgers. Great price”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

After a long drive from Norfolk, VA, I was eager to have my first ever taste of Five Guys. The bacon cheeseburger was indeed a winner, and yes, the order of fries is huge. Maybe it is a little greasier than In-N-Out and it is more expensive. However, it offers a superior product IMO with comparable service. For this reason, I give Five Guys the edge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YankieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like to wait go here”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Don't just order fries! If you do prepare to wait as they cook all the hamburgers etc for all the orders ahead of you. Doesn't matter that they are filling bag after bag of fries, you just sit and wait. 20 minutes later I said forget it and just got a refund. Meantime 15 order went out the door of hamburgers and fries.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing