We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummy”
Review of Plaza Azteca

Plaza Azteca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
kill devil hills
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went here with my family yesterday for lunch and had the fresh spinach enchiladas. They were fantastic! Probably the best thing on the menu as we have eaten here a lot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chupakilldevilhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    24
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I thought the food was incredibly boring...the tortillas didn't melt in your mouth like the great Mexican restaurants I'm used to from NYC to Albuquerque. Tried to get a good margarita...tasted like koolaid...really bad...won't go back:(

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I love Mexican and this was one of our favorite Mexican restaurants! We visited the Outer Banks area for a week and ate here twice. The service was great, the drinks were good, and the food was amazing! We will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Guacamole!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Plaza Azteca makes fresh guacamole at your table, seasoned to your liking. For guacamole lovers, this is nirvana! The $8 cost is worth it. We also enjoyed the entrees. I had spinach enchiladas, which had a wonderful green sauce on them . My companion had the lobster enchilada, and said it was fantastic. No room for dessert. Thus was my second visit to Azteca--having tried a number of Mexican restaurants in the Outer Banks over the years, I think I can say this one is the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilacJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwards, Ny
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“customer service????”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We always try to find some authentic mexican food on vacations, and thought this sounded good. Great decor, and a friendly greeter, so far so good. The menu had lottsa good mexican dishes, and some "gringo" food too. I ordered the chimie's, as it says meat & cheese on the menu (my usual dish when eating mexican). I am allergic to onions, so meat & cheese is perfect. Well everything had onions in it. We brought this to the attention of the waiter who didn't speak english well enough to understand the issue. A waitress help translate for him, then he informs us that EVERYTHING has onions....no matter what you order, but would I like something else (with onions in it)?? Really? I sent my plate away and didn't eat. When my wife was finished (she enjoyed her meal by the way- over $30 for hers w/ 1 house magarita)- only when paying the bill did the manager offer to help, apparently there are items without onions.The manager tried the "disclaimer" route, for gluten & peanuts....not really a convincing argument. I have these (chimie's) often when we go out for mexican, so I know what they usually come with. He (the mamager) finally offered to have a plate made for me (without onions), but at that point we'd had all of the place we wanted. Had the manager gotten involved earlier, or the waiter understood the english language better, we could have had a nice dinner experience. We certainly won't be back there again....to much good food around OBX to deal with this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Azteca also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Plaza Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing