We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No complaints.”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Asked for an oceanfront room and got one with a king sized bed on the first floor. Looking out the door was a path through the dunes to the beach. Couldn't actually see the water, but that happens with sand dunes, so no big deal. One hundred steps or so and we are on the beach. This hotel has been here for a long time. It has been renovated and upgraded more than once, but it will never be "modern." That's okay though, because I like it the way it is. It has wooden floors in the lobby that creak a little when you walk and a fireplace and sofas and low ceilings and such. If this were in Europe, people would call it quaint and gush over its charming qualities, but since it is in America some fools will call it old and shabby. It may be old but it isn't shabby, and for about $85 a night (tax and all) I was quite happy with what I got.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McSlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Days Inn Oceanfront. We appreciate your choosing us for your stay, and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our oceanview rooms at the Days Inn Oceanfront only have double beds (2 double beds, 2nd floor) while our dunefront rooms on the 1st floor have 1 king bed. And you are correct, from the 1st floor the ocean is not visible--only the dunes. We are more like a B&B type feel in the lobby area instead of a "hotel." I think this is the reason many people do decide they like to visit us when coming to the beach. It's not the sort of lobby one would think of for the beach....maybe in Asheville instead.

Since you're not far away, you'll have to try us when the weather gets a little colder and we have the fireplace blazing and the cookies baking! It's great in the lobby once the weather is a little colder. If you are able to visit again, please feel free to contact me directly and I'll be happy to reserve your next stay at our Days Inn Oceanfront. Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    439
    219
    84
    43
See reviews for
420
513
61
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel was one of the choices offered by our AAA agent for our North Carolina trip to the Outer Banks. Based on TripAdvisor comments and the option of an ocean view, I chose this one. Big mistake! The hotel was old and shabby looking, starting with the badly damaged front door. We arrived after a long day of travel and decided to make the best of it. Check in was OK; not great. The clerk could have told us we could walk the length of the hotel through internal hallways to reach our oceanfront room in the back. Instead, my husband had to struggle to get two large and one small suitcase from the side parking lot, up the outside stairs, to our room. The bed linens were well worn; the blankets had stains, and the bathroom had a pedestal sink, leaving no room for toiletries. We were just too tired to try to change. The next morning we alerted the hotel staff that we were leaving for a few hours and they could make up our room for our last night there. We came back at 2:30, ready for a nap, only to find the housekeeping staff had yet to arrive. We settled for fresh towels from the front desk, and were told the staff had until 4:00 p.m. to make up the room. We received a small room credit for our dissatisfaction, but we won't be staying at a Days Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our property. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. To reach our oceanview rooms, since they are located on the end of the building facing the water (the eastern most part of the building), most guests find it easier to park in the side parking lot to unload. There is an unloading area almost directly under the rooms where you may drop your baggage if there is not immediate parking right near your rooms. And then you just go up the back flight of stairs and the rooms are right there. Otherwise you would need to park in the front of the building (the western most part of the building) and then bring luggage in the lobby, up the stairs, down the hallway, and out the back of the hotel to reach your room.

I am sorry for the mixup with housekeeping service. During the time period you were with us, we were sold out so housekeeping was responsible for cleaning all checked out rooms and servicing all rooms prior to 4 pm. Normally if a guest lets us know that they would like service early, that is taken care of. I will speak with the head housekeeper to see who was responsible for servicing your room while you were here so we may speak with them.

Again I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations as we do try to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. I assure you if you were to travel our way again, I would 100% guarantee you would have a great stay at our Days Inn the next time. Thank you, Tonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Outstanding location, price, staff and service. Right on the beach with all the right ammenities---outdoor pool, parking, volleyball area, room types for anyone's needs, breakfast and an outdoor BBQ on by the beach. Walking range to a wide variety of shops, restaurants, groceries and gas stations. No pets allowed. This hotel has old world charm, is quiet and is kept spotlessly clean. This is for travelers who don't need restaurants and nightclubs on site. Easy to get to and easy on the pocketbook.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingwindsorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Love the title of your review! We appreciate your writing a review of our Days Inn Oceanfront. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are able to visit again, please feel free to contact me or any of our staff at the hotel---we would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Pro(s): short walk to ocean. Cons: room very small (bathroom 5X7, no vanity surface only a sink had to place personal items on toilet tank lid) very, small window didn't open (we paid for room facing ocean to get the ocean breeze), internet didn't work in room, had to go to reception area. Motel built in l940's,and looked it. For off season, is $90+ a night expensive (?) Their newer building additions may be better, wasn't made aware of newer buildings. Continental breakfast bare minimum Room felt like an old style "dormer."

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our property. Our oceanview rooms have plate glass windows like the other chain hotels here on the beach that go from the ceiling almost to floor level. As mentioned in a previous response, I'm afraid that none of the large chain hotels on the beach have windows that open because of safety concerns for higher floors--we all have the large plate glass windows for viewing the ocean, etc.

We urge guests to please let the front desk know immediately if there is any problem with your room as we will do our best to rectify any situation that occurs. This way guests may enjoy their stay as anticipated. We do have 24/7 tech support for any related internet problems which are normally solved very quickly with the guest's computer. Also our front desk staff is normally able to help guests run through some simpler troubleshooting issues that generally fix problems that may occur with internet access.

This Days Inn is comprised of only 1 building. We are the longest continuous running hotel on the beach, so many of our smaller room types (our queen rooms for example, which are normally the most economically priced) may be of a smaller size because they are part of the original structure and rooms were not built on a scale as they are today.

We try very hard to live us to our being named 1 of the 10 finalists for Best Property of the Year last year by Days Inn. Our breakfast features: waffles, cereals, grits, a variety of fruit, yogurt, a variety of pastries, a variety of breads for toasting, English muffins, juice, milk, and coffee. Then from 4-6 pm (this time of year) we do provide popcorn, lemonade and cookies as well.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me at the property. We would be happy for you to experience a stay in one of our other room types if you are able to visit the beach again. We are sure we can surpass your last stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly if you are able to visit again.

Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My family of 4 (kids are 10 and 8) stayed here for 4 days/3 nights in July. I spent the extra money and got a room with a kitchen. We were thrilled with the room! It is definitely showing it's age, but was clean. The beds weren't special, but comfy enough. We didn't hear any noise from anyone else the entire time we were there. Because it is a small hotel, there was a very friendly feel with the other guests. Internet worked great.

How those maids cleaned up all that sand, I'll never know! We rinsed off, but still managed to bring in tons of sand and that room was spotless every afternoon when we returned! We also managed to stop up the shower and the toliet and the maintenance folks were there quicky and didn't make us feel bad at all. They had great attitudes!

The room opened both to an indoor corridor and the outside balcony. You could see the ocean from the room, but it didn't matter because it was a quick, easy walk away! We used the pool one afternoon when the waves were too big and loved having a large outdoor pool (deck furniture could stand to be updated).

We also loved the huge front porch and the rocking chairs where we spent an evening when a thunderstorm rolled in.

I would have no hesitation recommending this to a friend and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I will make sure that I share your nice comments with the housekeeping and maintenance staff. It makes us happy to see that your issue was immediately resolved so your stay was not inconvenienced.

The front porch is a big favorite in sunny weather as well as our large pool area. Though as you mentioned, some people don't even see the pool while they are here since the beach is right at your feet. We appreciate all of your wonderful comments and hope that you are able to visit the area again soon, though you're a-ways away!

If you are able to visit with us again, please feel free to contact me directly for reservations!
Thank you!! ---Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We spent 4 nights here in one of the rooms on the right hand side of the hotel. It was a very spacious room with a proper full kitchen, complete with all crockery, cutlery and cookware. There was a 4 seater dining table and a big sofa. The room was very clean. The lobby area had a nuch nicer feel than other Days Inns we have stayed at. (or similar chains) The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We had horrible weather so we didn't get to enjoy the beach but it is literally out the back of the hotel and looked stunning. The breakfast was above average for this type of hotel and the area was very clean and well stocked. The hotel is just minutes from the main road through the Outer banks and just opposite the Wright Brothers Monument which is worth a trip.
Only slight criticisms would be the speed of the wifi (which may have been due to the weather) and the room felt like it needed a good airing, which again is tricky in wet humid weather.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you for writing a review of our Days Inn Oceanfront. We thank you for visiting the Outer Banks, though we're sorry the weather wasn't more co-operative. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were able to enjoy the Outer Banks. This time of year is a great time to visit normally because the weather is usually nice (sorry again) and there are some great specials to be found on the internet.

If you are able to visit again, please feel free to contact me directly for reservations.
Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Germany
Level Contributor
190 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

First of all you have to know that only the hotel corridors faces the beach directly. From the rooms you have a 90° angle to look at the sea. Secondly there are (at least) two room standards: 'superior' rooms with access by interior AND exterior corridors, the latter which can be used as porch/balcony, while the rooms on the other side of the interior corridor - where we stayed - only have windows. Ours was not to open. Therefore upon our arrival the room was smelly. After two days of permanent use of the air-condition the smell vanished. The room was for US-standards very narrow and two suitcases made the room barely walkable.

The breakfast room is tiny and at certain times you have to take your breakfast to the lobby for a place to sit. The breakfast is very continental and corresponds exactly to the hotel description.

The lobby has one seating area with a couple of upholstered chairs. The computer also available in the lobby only allowed to work while standing. The light was gloomy. This does not meet at least our understanding of coziness.

And in addition this was the by far most expensive hotel of our entire trip. In other beach and mountain resorts we got for less money by far more quality, even on the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property during your stay. Please note that none of the larger chain hotels on the beach have windows which open...most of the smaller mom and pop motels do. As we are the longest, continuous-running hotel on the Outer Banks our standard rooms are of a smaller size---since when the rooms were originally built they did not build rooms to the size of today. The kitchen part of the suites section of the building was added later on, so that's why they are quite a bit bigger (this would be the right hand side of the building if facing the ocean).

The four rooms at the end of the building on the 2nd floor are the only "oceanview" rooms we feature (2 double beds), which is why people normally have to call at least 3 weeks in advance to book. They look directly at the ocean (straight out). The four rooms at the end of the building on the 1st floor with outdoor seating are our "dunefront" rooms with 1 king bed. These rooms are also a little bigger than our "standard" rooms in the hotel. The views from these rooms can be found in our photo tour on our main website.

We thank you for visiting North Carolina and the Outer Banks, and hope that you enjoyed your sightseeing.

Thank you--Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Property: Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing