We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location right on the ocean. The lobby was very cozy and inviting. The day we arrived was overcast and chilly. The roaring fire in the lobby fireplace was wonderful! The rooms are smaller than usual, however, was fine for the 2 of us. Rooms had comfy bed/pillows. Hotel is very clean. One of the best "included" breakfasts I've ever had. The free popcorn was a fun touch!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the Days Inn Oceanfront on the Outer Banks. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Though we love the summer like everyone else--the fall and winter for us is a fun time when we have the fireplace going as you mentioned as well as serving our guests fresh baked cookies along with hot spiced apple cider and popcorn in the evenings. We hope we will get to see you again soon on the Outer Banks and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    377
    186
    74
    37
See reviews for
349
445
53
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a weekend getaway. The hotel is old but clean and the bathrooms have been completely renovated. Great location with beachfront. Good for a few nights but its much cheaper to rent a vacation home if staying for more than five nights.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for choosing to stay with us at our Days Inn Oceanfront. I'm so happy that you found everything clean and tidy for your stay. We hope that you will be able to visit again soon (since you're not that far away) and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here as part of a road trip around NC, TN & KY. It's in a great location right by the impressive sand dunes. Many aspects of the hotel are fine - quit location, fridge, microwave, pool. However much was not great - we were in room 202 which had a tired look, low ceiling, small windows, 2 queen beds squeezed in to a small space, cracked tiles in the bathroom and a crack in the wall of the bedroom. The free wifi did not work and staff were not helpful in trying to resolve it. There is free coffee 24/7 in the lobby and cookies and popcorn in the afternoon. You don't expect 5 star luxury for 2 star prices but I did expect a little more.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for coming to NC during your whirlwind tour and for coming to the Outer Banks. In regards to the Wi-Fi, we had discovered that the access point (located next door to this room) was not working and has since been fixed by our wireless provider. We hope that you may come and visit with us again and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the oceanfront room 230 for one night. Normally I wouldn't stay at a Days Inn but since it was 4th of July weekend there wasn't much left and this is where we were stuck. We tried to check in early (website says a 4pm check in time) and the front desk told me at 1pm that the room wasn't ready but they would call when it was. They called at 3:55 pm so don't count on an early check in. It is very convenient right on the beach, 5 minute drive from the Wright brothers museum and 10 minute drive from everything else it seems like.

The room itself was just motel quality. The beds weren't terrible but not overly comfortable and the linens may have been changed but hard to tell. Rings on the sink, marks on the wall, etc. Even the view of the water is blocked by a run down area that has a grill and a volleyball court whose net was all torn to shreds. It seems like they just don't care enough to fix anything up because they still got $250 out of me.

PROS: Great location, nice beach, right on the water, nice view with your own chairs with the oceanfront rooms

CONS: Staff wasn't overly helpful/friendly, rooms were old and musty, beds were mediocre, too expensive for what it is

Room Tip: 2nd floor Oceanfront rooms have a nice view and your own set of chairs outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your coming to the Outer Banks for a visit. Though we do try to let guests check in early if it is possible, when we have many check outs with many check ins it is not possible for people to always check in early...this is why we mention that check in begins at 4 pm and that we cannot promise an early check in. What we can promise to do, and what we have done for years and what we did in your case, is to let guests fill out the registration information and go ahead and obtain pool and parking passes so that they may use the beach area at the hotel or use our outdoor pool if they arrive early before the designated check in time. We offer guests the use of the public restroom to change and then take their cell phone numbers to call when the rooms are ready. As you did visit after the storm, the volleyball net area has been repaired in the few days since you checked out. Otherwise I have located the room in which you stayed and will check it myself this afternoon. We do hope that you will be able to visit the Outer Banks again soon. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Shores
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

stayed in oceanfront room 232 for 2 nights and enjoyed our mini-vacation so much !! highly recommend paying a little more for the spectacular view we had. room was spacious and the beds and pillows were super comfortable. bathroom looked like it was going through a renovation phase, new fixtures, vanity and toilet with the old flooring and tile but it was very clean. great breakfast with snacks throughout the day. front desk was friendly and helpful. great stay, definitely will be back !!!

Helpful?
Thank cspell13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely comments on your stay at our Days Inn Oceanfront on the Outer Banks. We are so happy that you enjoyed your oceanfront room, ocean view and were "pleasantly surprised!" We would love for you to come and visit with us again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks so much! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
0.6 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Property: Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing