We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked this motel using Expedia, and chose it mostly for the fact that it was one of the few ocean front motels we could afford. We didn't expect too much, but were pleasantly surprised when we got there! The lobby is very rustic and pretty. The staff was very friendly when we checked in. The room was a little on the small side (for a King Size Bed), but we weren't planning on staying in the room much anyway. The room was very clean and nice. Being on the ocean, we expected the water to be typical beachy-sulfur water - while you could smell just a hint of sulfur when you first turned on the faucets, for the most part the water was normal. Water pressure was good in the showers and plenty of hot water. They have a boardwalk to the beach, and a grill for motel guests. There's also a rather large pool (for such a small hotel) but we didn't use it. The breakfast was your typical - make-it-yourself waffles, cereal, toast, etc, but was hot and good. The only negative we found was that there was limited parking by our room, but where we did park was still very close. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this place!.

Room Tip: There are 8 rooms that are actually facing the ocean - if you open your door you get a nice breeze f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks and for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip. Thank you for all of your lovely comments concerning your stay with us at our Days Inn Oceanfront. I am so very pleased that you found everything clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We do have one of the largest pools for any hotels here on the beach--though as you mentioned, most people don't seem to hang at the pool as they've come for the lovely beaches instead. We do hope that you will be able to visit with us again another time--the fall is quite spectacular here on the Outer Banks. Please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thanks so much! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    436
    217
    84
    43
See reviews for
415
512
61
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Upon arriving I was not really sure what to expect of the hotels in the Outer Banks area. Yikes, I was not expecting it was going to be this bad, at least in terms of the room condition. My boyfriend and I stayed here in mid June for a family wedding. We booked a STANDARD room which was said to have a queen bed and looked spacious from the photo(never trust photos!). We arrived at the hotel, which looked pretty normal, clean and inviting from the outside. But when we walked into the room, we could not believe the size of the actual room! It was TINY. We had no place to put our luggage, we had to keep most of our toiletries and clothes packed in the suitcase for the few days we were there.. Forget hanging anything in the "closet" which is essentially an open rack attached to a wall. Everything becomes wet and disgusting immediately. This includes bed sheets, pillows, carpet, walls, everything. We tried to adjust the A/C to see if it would make the room more comfortable - nope. We asked the front desk if there is anything we could do, or if they could give us a fan - nope. If you're are thinking these conditions were due to weather outside, nope - the couple of days we were there it barely hit 80's. This is definitely not a great place to get ready for a wedding, Even after showering you feel dirty. I will say that the cleaning staff were very friendly and fast. This location IS just a few seconds to the beach, which the only enjoyable part.. possibly because of cloudy weather. Overall - I would never stay here again unless it was the only option within 50 miles. If you are OK with paying hundreds a night to stay in a tiny room with extreme humidity, to the point of where everything you touch in the room is wet, then this hotel is for you!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a standard size room if you are staying here for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your coming to the Outer Banks. As mentioned in many previous other comments, the queen rooms at our property (which are part of the original building) are the smallest room type at the hotel. As the building is historic , it was originally built in the 1940s, the original rooms are all built to a much smaller size as "back-in-the-day" rooms were not built to the scale that they are built today. Also as mentioned before, the dunefront, oceanfront and suite rooms are all of a larger size.

Regarding the dampness of the room, this is the first time we have ever heard of this complaint and I will have our maintenance staff check it out...We would hope that you might visit with us again and maybe try out one of our other room types. Thank you for coming and visiting with us, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked 2 nights Friday and Saturday arrived late Friday night due to having to work late. We were put in room 114 which is right off the lobby. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this one by far is the smallest I have ever encountered. 2 double beds were not set up like traditional hotel rooms the head of each bed were on opposite walls so they faced each other. You could only view the tv from 1 of the beds and that was the bed that was literally inches from the bathroom. Bathroom was so small they couldn't fit a sink in it. Also toilet didn't flush well and shower was very slow to drain. On the other hand the day staff was very nice. Night staff not so pleasant. Hotel was very clean. I asked to change rooms but nothing was available Friday night. I was going to ask Saturday but changed my mind due to I was afraid they might stick me in a worse room. I would probably stay again with specific instructions when booking to not be placed in room 114.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llopez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We loved this hotel's location, staff, and guest rooms!! The hotel is older but well maintained. We loved the front desk area with its majestic fireplace and lovely hardwood floors. Breakfast was exactly as we expected and we enjoyed it both mornings we stayed there. The staff was polite and helpful and the location was perfect! While you cannot see the ocean for the dunes (no surprise, its like that all over the OBX) it was oceanfront which made for easy beach access anytime we wanted to go. Thank you to everyone who made our family weekend special! We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Forget about checking in Early. We arrived at 1:30 pm, but room wasn't ready. They took my cell #, but no call by 3:30. Re-arrived at 3:45, still not ready (note: check in is 4 pm). Some rooms appear to be as small as my college dorm room in the 70's (tiny). On the Plus side, great service,
friendly staff, nice continental breakfast and Oceanfront location.

Room Tip: Rooms with one bed are SMALL! Can't speak for other rooms, but there are 8 oceanfront rooms, 1 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stay at this hotel everytime we vacation in OBX. Whether we stay one or more nights, each time is great. I have referred many of our friends to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We selected this motel for a one night stay before our weekly vacation home rental began. The lobby is lovely, welcoming, and historical. Our room was one of two that are located just off the lobby, which I found quite convenient. Although you would want to be careful upon opening the door, as a view of the room could possibly be seen by visitors in the lobby. The breakfast room was clean with ample choices for a light breakfast and coffee was available throughout the day, along with late afternoon snacks. The vending and ice machine area, as well as a guest laundry are located in a convenient alcove, adjacent to the lobby. There is a lovely front porch with chairs and rockers, and also an outdoor pool. All of the areas which I visited appeared clean and inviting. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel, and I look forward to visiting the Days Inn Wilbur and Orville again on a future trip to the OBX.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamnpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Property: Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing