We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We couldn't see the ocean from our room (second floor) nor could we see it from the hotel grounds.......had to walk through sand and weeds to get view. Toilet in small bathroom was jammed so close to the wall that I (right handed) I couldn't wipe my bottom unless I switched to use my left (untrained) hand. Our room was tiny and smelled musty. The hotel is obviously old. Breakfast area cramped. Front desk staff too busy visiting among themselves to answer my questions, such as where may we park our car. Watch out for an added "safe usage charge" that they will add to your bill.

Room Tip: Check other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billpokeypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your stay. If an oceanview room was reserved, which are 4 rooms located at the ocean end of the building (the other rooms on the 2nd floor are not described on the internet or phone as "oceanview") then you would have an oceanview as mentioned by others who have commented on their view from the room. The view of the ocean from these rooms is posted on our website--it actually shows the view from the room looking at the water. The rooms that are oceanview are also not tiny, they have: 2 double beds, microwave/refrigerator, table with 2 chairs, loveseat, end tables, in-room safe and luggage rack as well as the bathroom. These rooms also do not have a smaller sized bathroom--for our property the bathroom is of a larger size so I believe that you may have been in another room type.

We would like for you to come back and be able to stay in an oceanview room so that you would be able to enjoy your stay more. Please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make your reservations. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    446
    221
    87
    43
See reviews for
434
520
63
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This property was very good for our needs. On this trip we were traveling as a family with young children and the place was great. I think the point needs to be made that it is beach front and it is in the dunes so expect sand. The staff made every effort to keep things clean which is difficult in the environment but I think they did very well.
I really love the large porch area and the rocking chairs. Everyone was friendly and welcoming so really no complaints whatsoever.
There were a number of restaurants and a local microbrewery nearby and of course the Wright Brothers memorial is very near.
I would return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank GM_Bayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks with your family. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us and would visit again another time. Please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Here's what I like about this hotel: it is part of the Days Inn chain (and so, reliable) but it was originally an independent hotel built in the 1940s. The lobby with its beautiful wooden wainscoting, tiffany-style lamp, wooden furniture and area rugs is a welcoming common area that actually gets used. We stayed in a room with two double beds with our adult daughter. There was just room for the beds and the suitcases, the microwave and the fridge. The furnishings were nice and updated and the bathroom was very nice and very clean. If you care about room size, book a suite with king bed. The others are all small-ish like ours I am told. If you prefer the large, cookie cutter rooms of standard hotel chains, this might not be the place for you. But, as other reviewers have said, this hotel has a great location, right on the beach. And because it only has 54 rooms, the beach area nearest the hotel is not nearly as crowded as the beachfront in front of the large hotels. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. The included breakfast is served in a large, pleasant breakfast room and you can easily see why it is so popular. There are lots of food choices, both hot and cold. Add in the nice, clean pool, the adirondack chairs on the back porch overlooking the dunes, the picnic table and barbecue grill behind the hotel and the nice vibe from the people who choose to stay here and this place is definitely a winner.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go for the suites with king size beds. The regular rooms are rather small. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We appreciate your traveling to the Outer Banks and for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while on the beach--your comments were very lovely. We hope that we will see you again another time and please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you!! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
464 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Property: Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing