We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Outer Banks Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed November 7, 2012

First a confession: I grew up on the Outer Banks in the '70's, '80's & '90's, before the boom that turned into something, in my mind, more akin to Virginia Beach than an eastern North Carolina barrier island. This hotel has been there since way before I moved there and used to have a sister property that was taken out by a waterspout in the late '70's. What it lacks in modern amenities, it makes up for in charm and hospitality. I stay here when I go down there frequently and for the money, wouldn't really stay anywhere else.

The main lobby has original wood paneling and floors, a big brick fireplace (which is lit on cool fall/winter nights and is the perfect place to sip the free hot cider and read a book) and the feel of old beach charm. The rooms, while more modern than the lobby, would be spare by current standards. They are not however uncomfortable or dated. I've stayed in many of the rooms - from the basic double bed one's above the lobby to the deluxe suites complete with a full kitchen. All of them have comfortable beds & pillows, decent linens, clean bathrooms and enough room to hold some beach gear & clothes for a short vacation. The suites are perfect if you stay longer or as an alternative to a cottage; there's an exterior balcony/walkway off these rooms and each room has a set of wood chairs outside the door.

The location is within walking distance of a local store (Stop N Shop) which has everything you need from deli sandwiches to beach chairs & health care needs. Duck Donuts, Slice Pizza and a bike store with beach cruiser rentals are also within easy reach & I highly recommend all of them.

The hotel staff is always friendly and ready to recommend restaurants or places to see. The beach in front of the hotel is great for lazying your day away staring at the ocean.

There's really no reason to stay at a modern hotel on the Banks when places like the Wilbur Wright (and several others) still purvey their special brand beach charm.

Room Tip: Any really though the suites (all on the south side) are a good value for 2 rooms with a full kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We appreciate your returning year after year to stay with us and you certainly have stayed in many of our different room types. We really thank you for your kind comments and are happy that you continue to enjoy your stay with us every year. We thank you for coming to visit and will be happy to see you again the next time! Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,268 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
MIDLOTHIAN
1
Reviewed November 7, 2012

One of the most comfortable stays. Fire in the sitting room was awsome and very comforting. Breakfast was nice and easy. The lady Jo from N.J. that was keeping the food for breakfast available, made the trip feel like I was staying with family. My wife and I really loved sitting and talking with her. Will go back because of how she made us feel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to the Outer Banks. I will make sure I share your comments with Joan. It's quite funny because we have many guests who actually do return every year to see Joan. We love this time of year as well when we have the fireplace going as well as the hot apple cider and cookies. We will be happy to see you again and please feel free to contact me when you start planning your visit and I will be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank IRENE L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

They staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I loved my room and had quick access to attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on the Outer Banks. We appreciate your coming to visit with us. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your accommodations and we do hope to see you again soon another time. Please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay--Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

So many choices in the area but this had a good price on Hotels.com. Small place but we had a room on the beachfront. Small, dated but comfortable and quiet. Had a very enjoyable evening walk on the expansive beach rite in front. Close to Wright Bros. Natl Monument and off the main road. Nice breakfast! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We appreciate your choosing us from the hotels you might have chosen for your stay on the Outer Banks. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be happy to have you visit again. Please feel free to contact me for reservations when you are able to return. Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank MARGARET F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank JackDmv
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
891 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
488 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur

Address: 201 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $71 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated in 2009 by Days Inn as 1 of their 10 Finalists for Best Property of the Year (for a hotel with 75 rooms or less). Oceanfront property with expanded complimentary continental breakfast including waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. All rooms and suites are smoke free. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm. Microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & hi speed wireless internet available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oceanfront Wright Brothers Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur Outer Banks, NC
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing