We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos and margaritas!”
Review of Bad Bean Baja Grill - MOVED

Bad Bean Baja Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bad Bean Baja Grill serves cuisine inspired from Baja California, Mexico, and Latin America. The Baja Grill is a full service family friendly restaurant utilizing local fresh ingredients from the sea and land. We have an excellent selection of craft beers and a great specialty drink list.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great tacos and margaritas!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went to Bad Bean a handful of times when I was staying in OBX and I was never disappointed. Their tacos are great, especially pork belly, and burritos are even better. I'm normally not one for margaritias, but their fresh fruit margaritas are fantastic!! Watch out for the "hot" salsa, it packs a punch of habanero!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frugalphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    60
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy and easy with small kids”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

we did an early dinner with two small kids (4 and 2.5). Very friendly waiter and staff, great food, good value and kid friendly!

Helpful?
Thank morrisfamilyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best chips and salsa on the beach.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Bad Bean has the best chips and salsa. The tomatoes appear to be fire roasted and have three options of hotness. The burritos are huge and delicious. They make their own margarita mix! My favorite Mexican on the beach, no doubt.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OBXLocal252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three Words - OH MY GOSH”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'm a 60 year old native Southern Californian that moved to the Eastern Shore of Maryland 16 years ago. I've been vacationing in the Outer Banks for 15 of those. Being from So Cal, great Mexican food is a birth right. Until now, I haven't had great tasting, authentic Mexican food since I moved and believe me when is say that I've tried.

My wife and I visited the Bad Bean Baja Grill for dinner on Tuesday, October 29, 2013. The host doubled as our waiter and the service was fantastic. We had the fresh Guacamole app and it's the best I've ever tasted. My wife had the Taco Salad and I wanted Tacos De Carne Asada but they had do substitute with shredded beef. The corn tortillas were out of this world. I had Dos Equis Amber draft beer and my wife tried their prickly pear margarita (LOVED it). Everything was wonderful and we'll be back every year.VERY REASONABLE! This is a must visit restaurant if you love Mexican!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bte52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise, expected good, got great.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Special for the day with flounder was as good a seafood meal as any I've had for much more money. Waitress guided several choices to make for a wonderful meal in a relaxed atmosphere. Great match of atmosphere and meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad Bean Baja Grill also viewed

Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing