We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not ask for a better location, quality of motel, or courtesy of staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I took my wife to the OBX for her first visit! She has been hinting for several years, saying repeatedly that she had never been "out there"!
As this was our first trip to the OBX we looked for a motel convenient to the area attractions, reasonably priced, and of expected quality. The Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront did not disappoint in any way.
Our room was clean, modern, convenient, and reasonably priced. The staff was extremely courtesous, ready to assist with everything from using the WIFI to suggestions for good restaurants to visit.
Free breakfast was an OUTSTANDING, (More than just the normal "Continental Breakfast" we are used to finding!) Multiple waffle makers, boiled eggs, sausage gravy, good biscuits, several types of cereal, excellant coffee, and available juices, tea , and hot chocolate.
Just a short 3 or 4 block drive to the National Park Service Wright Brothers Memorial and just one block off the main, four-lane north south highway. This made drive north to Corolla or south to Jockey's Ridge National Park and Roanoke Island a simple trip.
Someone mentioned that it was just a 2 minute walk from the motel to the beach, with a very nice pool along the way. A very clean, wel-kept pool one might add.
While the motel does not have a fitness center, they provide guests with a free pass for the local YMCA!
I guess you could say we really enjoyed our stay and would definitley stay there on our next rrip to the OBX!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SquareCaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2010

We have stayed here every September for the last 5 years, through a couple changes in ownership. Every time we found the experience to be good. No, it's not the Taj Mahal, but it's clean and modern. Love the 3rd floor balcony! My husband has a bionic nose, and he has never complained about any musty smell. The free breakfast has a great selection.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbake78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Friendly staff
Awesome breakfast (biscuits & gravy, belgian waffles, hot/cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, bananas, oranges, pecan swirls, coffee, juice)
Oceanfront, but only the third floor is able to see the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ECEducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

A typical ocean motel however this was always clean and for the price I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Bordering the ocean it is no more than a 2 minute walk. The pool was also clean and refreshing after being at the beach. Rooms are, yes, a bit dated and ours did have a bit of a damp smell. With no fitness room on site they provide complementary usage of the local YMCA. Breakfast provided, yogurt, cereal, waffle, muffins, and fruit. For nice dinners I recommend the Colington Cafe and the Black Pelican. nts. Millers is no more than glorified diner food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Took my Mom for a 2 night stay. We stayed in room 344 which is 3rd floor oceanfront. The room reeked of mold and mildew! The carpet was disgusting. We tried to air out the room by opening the balcony door, and even went to Walmart and bought air fresheners. No help. Left after one night. What a total waste of my money!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamariecda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel was OK for the price. Very basic rooms that were well worn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindablash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront was an excellent choice for my daughter and I. A beach hotel automatically gets more wear and tear then most. The room was VERY clean. The carpets were definately clean but stained. The beds were the wonderfully comfortable. We had a parking lot view but on the 3rd floor we had an excellent view of the ocean. I would not pay more for the ocean view rooms because unless you are on the 3rd floor, you are only going to see a dune. The front desk folks were absolutely terrific! The lobby is very clean and attractive and everything from the breakfast area, business center, relaxation area, pool, access to the beach is just perfect. The hotel location is perfect as well -- close to lots of restaurants and activities but not on top of them. Thanks for a great stay! I highly recomment this hotel and will come back over and over again!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,276 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $69 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing