We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Friendly staff
Awesome breakfast (biscuits & gravy, belgian waffles, hot/cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, bananas, oranges, pecan swirls, coffee, juice)
Oceanfront, but only the third floor is able to see the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECEducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    96
    76
    40
    33
See reviews for
98
110
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ringwood
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

A typical ocean motel however this was always clean and for the price I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Bordering the ocean it is no more than a 2 minute walk. The pool was also clean and refreshing after being at the beach. Rooms are, yes, a bit dated and ours did have a bit of a damp smell. With no fitness room on site they provide complementary usage of the local YMCA. Breakfast provided, yogurt, cereal, waffle, muffins, and fruit. For nice dinners I recommend the Colington Cafe and the Black Pelican. nts. Millers is no more than glorified diner food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Took my Mom for a 2 night stay. We stayed in room 344 which is 3rd floor oceanfront. The room reeked of mold and mildew! The carpet was disgusting. We tried to air out the room by opening the balcony door, and even went to Walmart and bought air fresheners. No help. Left after one night. What a total waste of my money!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamariecda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel was OK for the price. Very basic rooms that were well worn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindablash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront was an excellent choice for my daughter and I. A beach hotel automatically gets more wear and tear then most. The room was VERY clean. The carpets were definately clean but stained. The beds were the wonderfully comfortable. We had a parking lot view but on the 3rd floor we had an excellent view of the ocean. I would not pay more for the ocean view rooms because unless you are on the 3rd floor, you are only going to see a dune. The front desk folks were absolutely terrific! The lobby is very clean and attractive and everything from the breakfast area, business center, relaxation area, pool, access to the beach is just perfect. The hotel location is perfect as well -- close to lots of restaurants and activities but not on top of them. Thanks for a great stay! I highly recomment this hotel and will come back over and over again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

My family and I booked four nights at this hotel and loved the Outer Banks so much that we decided to stay longer. When I asked the front desk attendant if it would be possible to stay in our same room, she made it happen. Throughout our stay we found the entire staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, though there were a couple of days where not everything seemed to have been completed by housekeeping, i.e. one day we did not receive new towels in the bathroom, another day we did not get any new shampoo/conditioner. The front desk staff quickly provided them. The hotel's breakfast is very good and there are a lot of choices, both hot and cold. Even after several days of breakfast in the same hotel, no one in our family complained. This hotel is in a great location, with a wooden walkway and steps right down to the beach. We did not have an oceanfront room, but we didn't feel we were missing anything as we were able to literally walk down to it at any time. Having a microwave and refrigerator in the room was handy for quick lunches and snacks, as well as cold beverages needed after a few hours on Kill Devil Hills' hot sandy beach or in the hotel's pool. The guest laundry consists of one washer and one dryer, but it wasn't a problem when we wanted to use it. We definitely would stay here again and recommend it to others who are looking for a great beachfront stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StPtCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I had to write this review because of all the complaints in the other reviews. My hubby and I and 2 young children stayed here for a week. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great-something for everyone and I have some picky eaters. The location was great the pool was clean and was a 2 min walk to beach. A few tips if you request 3rd floor parking view you can still see a great view of the ocean at a much lower cost. Also, I used my Sam's card and got a good discount so ask about discounts. It is a family friendly hotel and although, hotels are pricey this one was within our budget. You can't put a price on so much fun and family time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing