We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No complaints for our 3 nights at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront to your Saves list
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No complaints for our 3 nights at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

No complaints here. The hotel is all non-smoking and our room and bathroom were cleaned sufficiently each day. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows weren't... brought my own and all was well. There was free breakfast; decent enough. My wife and I ate free breakfast- waffles, oatmeal, fruit, and yogurt. Coffee sucked. Juuuust barely drinkable. Flat screen tv, fridge, right on the beach, clean and comfortable. I've paid the same amount to stay in another beach town motel that was the same price, even in off season, that wasn't nearly as clean and comfortable as this. Of course realize, this is a Quality Inn. Yes, the room may have carpet that could be replaced, out-dated decor, etc., but if the room is clean with no weird odor then that's enough to make me happy... Shell out another $100 or more for a Marriot/whathaveyou if decor is very important to you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    68
    33
    26
See reviews for
85
96
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is a great location with helpful staff and a decent breakfast, but it is extremely dated. The paint/carpet/décor is showing its age. The air conditioning unit in your room was so loud that every time it cycled on it woke us up. Also the room smelled musty, most likely due to the older carpet in the room, although it was cleaned every day to our satisfaction. If you are looking just for a place to sleep, that you may get if your air conditioner is not loud, but don't expect much else and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you comments and input and hope to be of service to you in the near furture.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not impressed with this hotel at all; room was less than acceptable; needed cleaning & updating....commode was falling away from the wall; carpet was dirty. I would seek other accommodations when returning. Very noisy, but good beach access. Look at other spots before settling on this one!! Staff was good, breakfast was good!.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cahollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor we appreciate your comments and input and Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a week and it was great, room was clean, great access to the beach and the staff was awesome. Wee will be going back next year and looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Pretty much a view of the ocean from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeter34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor we appreciate you comments and input as they are important to us. We want to Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here July 14-17.

Staff - awesome, always seemed to want to help, whether it was local dining, towels, etc.

Lodging - was okay, the room did smell sort of musty, but coastal musty. Perhaps a dehumidifier, bit after airing the room out, we were fine. The room was clean but old, so made for a comfortable stay. The tub had a patched crack and some mold but was usable. Overall a comfortable stay close to First Flight (me) and beach (kids).

Food or breakfast, free and typical fare. I did find the coffee odd tasting, not sure, possibly the coffee machine.

Overall I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: For a good view of First Flight Pylon and ocean pick a room on the 3rd floor and on the 301-309+ ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88MikeMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We also appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here June 27th and 28th. Room was recently painted and overall very clean. Only downside to room is no fan, just a/c so feels a bit muggy and some staining on carpet by door, which I am sure is a hazard of rooms at the beach and having a swimming pool. Beach access next to pool is fantastic, ramp up and just a few steps down, much easier than side by public access. We enjoyed pool as well. Breakfast is a step above the average continental fare and area is very clean and well tended. We did not have an ocean view however our request to have a first floor room was filled with a smile and a no problem at all! Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The 2nd week of June 2014 we traveled to the Outer banks and stayed at the Quality Inn Oceanfront. We were joined by our Daughter, Son-in-law and 2 grandkids (ages 6 & 4). We had a great time!

The hotel was clean and easily accessible. We enjoyed their large pool very much (preferred by the kids) and the ocean beach was only about 100 yards or less from the pool. The beach was not super crowded for a weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room with No View meaning that you can't see the Ocean. It was fine since we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddw43110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and comments and a Special Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you. Hope to see you soon.

Jackie Szymanski
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel / Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing