We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Concord, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a week and it was great, room was clean, great access to the beach and the staff was awesome. Wee will be going back next year and looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Pretty much a view of the ocean from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeter34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor we appreciate you comments and input as they are important to us. We want to Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    96
    76
    40
    33
See reviews for
98
110
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here July 14-17.

Staff - awesome, always seemed to want to help, whether it was local dining, towels, etc.

Lodging - was okay, the room did smell sort of musty, but coastal musty. Perhaps a dehumidifier, bit after airing the room out, we were fine. The room was clean but old, so made for a comfortable stay. The tub had a patched crack and some mold but was usable. Overall a comfortable stay close to First Flight (me) and beach (kids).

Food or breakfast, free and typical fare. I did find the coffee odd tasting, not sure, possibly the coffee machine.

Overall I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: For a good view of First Flight Pylon and ocean pick a room on the 3rd floor and on the 301-309+ ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88MikeMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We also appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here June 27th and 28th. Room was recently painted and overall very clean. Only downside to room is no fan, just a/c so feels a bit muggy and some staining on carpet by door, which I am sure is a hazard of rooms at the beach and having a swimming pool. Beach access next to pool is fantastic, ramp up and just a few steps down, much easier than side by public access. We enjoyed pool as well. Breakfast is a step above the average continental fare and area is very clean and well tended. We did not have an ocean view however our request to have a first floor room was filled with a smile and a no problem at all! Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The 2nd week of June 2014 we traveled to the Outer banks and stayed at the Quality Inn Oceanfront. We were joined by our Daughter, Son-in-law and 2 grandkids (ages 6 & 4). We had a great time!

The hotel was clean and easily accessible. We enjoyed their large pool very much (preferred by the kids) and the ocean beach was only about 100 yards or less from the pool. The beach was not super crowded for a weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room with No View meaning that you can't see the Ocean. It was fine since we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddw43110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and comments and a Special Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you. Hope to see you soon.

Jackie Szymanski
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This motel was not new but it was clean. It had everything we needed. Good breakfast each morning with lots to choose from. Pool and easy beach access. Only problem was us paying extra for an ocean front room on 2nd floor with beach view. Not a very good view for the extra money. We were with a big group of over 40 people and they attended to all of our needs quickly and pleasantly. And the beds and pillows were the most comfortable we had ever had while traveling. Wanted to take them home with me.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for one of the few beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to review us. We appreciate your comments and input. We hope that we can be of service to you in the near future.

Safe Travels always,
Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My first trip to OBS was nearly ruined by this motel. The room seemed clean but very old at first. Upon closer inspection There was some type of powdered insecticide on the floor under the window (I have a small child) and the selves in the refrigerator were very rusted (who wants to put food on that). The tub was clearly old and the fixtures looked like they've seen better days and it leaked. There was a BIG ant problem so leave nothing out if stay here. Upon complaining they did switch out the shelves, spray for ants. However the poison was still on the floor, there were a few stray ants, and the tub still leaked.
Overall I cannot believe I paid $220-240 per night for this disgusting room/hotel. I wanted to leave a day early but my husband convinced me otherwise. I felt like everything was dirty in the room and wanted to touch nothing.
The best thing was the ocean view and we did see dolphins from our balcony the last morning.
I will never stay here again. I wish I would have took my money and went to Great Wolf Lodge.

Room Tip: Don't stay here but if you do choose the third floor if you want and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
My Sincere apologies, if you would'nt mind calling me, I would like to discuss. I would reach out to you, but this site does not give me any sort of information, dates you stayed, name, etc. I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean except carpets are really dirty my feet turned black from all dirt in carpets, drippy facet in tub it didn't stop even turning it tight!! Plus thin walls someone cooking something stinky smell in our room & it smelled like wet pets @ times!!
Wouldn't give us room facing ocean even though celebrating special occasion & they weren't busy!! Breakfast was just ok not great coffee weak & orange juice watered down, & hard boiled eggs very store bought & very hard boiled!! Probably wouldn't stay here again...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CubbiesCouple2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, they are important to us. Hopefully those items were addressed in a timely manner for your comfort. Our Breakfast being a Deluxe Continental does have it's limits without be transformed into a restaurant according to the health department standards. We hope you had a great time and Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

Jackie Szymanski & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing