We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Close to many restaurants and across from the Wright Monument. Hotel on the beach. Was a little older but good enough. A good price for on the beach. Parking was crowded. Breakfast was good - had meats & eggs. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you as well and we hope to see you soon.

Safe Travels Always
Jackie Szymanski & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 313 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Pretty pricy for not much offered. Pool is small and crowded, the same for the continental breakfast, couldn't even get anything to eat because it was so busy. Room was ok I guess, had some broken tiles in the room, stains on carpet, different colored lights in bathroom. Looked like room had a fresh coat of paint. Beds were ok but not too comfortable. The air conditioner didn't work properly, it never really seemed to cool down the room.

Room Tip: RM 339 Be prepared to take stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey, We appreciate hearing from our guests. We use the surveys as training tools for our staff. As always we want all our guests to be happy with their time with us. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to improve and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit skeptical after reading some of these reviews but the choices were limited at last minute. We booked this the night before,and at noon we were allowed to check in so we could get some lunch. We were walking distance from Beach Bistro and had a semi view of ocean from regular room. Room was clean and plenty of towels and cloths. Decent choice for a quick getaway near the water.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Turner-757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. Thank You and we hope to be of service to you again.

Jackie Szymanski and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked this Hotel because our other favorite hotel in this area was booked solid as well as several other alternatives. So out of desperation we decided to go with this one. We were afraid of what we would experience. We booked two rooms and although we did not request it they were able to give us two rooms next to each other with beach views. ( only about twelve rooms have beach views) The rates were much lower than the other hotels in the area and they were not gouging people with exorbitant rates even though the other hotels were booked. First it is a older building yes no doubt about it, but it is clean and very well maintained. There was not a single thing wrong with our room. The carpet was clean and looked relatively new, there were no unpleasant odors, the furniture look nice, the AC worked well and kept the room at a pleasant temperature. The Breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of room to sit and enjoy it. It was well stocked and as someone that probably travels a bit more than average I would say it was average to above average, if an item that you want like "meat" is not there then take your big bottom out to a restaurant and pay for it! The front desk staff were very cheerful , helpful and responsive to our every need, what more could I ever ask of them? The televisions were flat screens with a proper amount of television programming. Overall our experience was a pleasant one. My only complaint is that the Wi-Fi keep dropping out every few minutes and I believe the hotel might need to look into this.( I forgot to mention this to the staff) But as I said we had a nice experience at this hotel. I try to be fair and honest with my reviews and check out my other reviews if you would like to see. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants good value and I believe that some people on here that posted bad reviews had some sort of agenda.

Room Tip: You can't get a true Beach View because the Dunes are so high and the Hotel is only three storie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. We appreciate that we were able of be of service to you and hope to again in the near future.

Safe Travels Always,
Jackie Szymanski and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Not very impressed by this hotel... Wish they would offer us a view to the beach since hotel was almost empty but it seems not available that night ???

Room smell pretty bad, carpet was wet and smell bad...

Very noisy AC and fan...

Great access to the beach from hotel...

Good Internet and decent very basic breakfast... Nice flat screen tv

Good thing price was low at this time of the year...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. I have forward the information to the approriate staff to be sure the items mentions were taking care of. We hope to be of service to you in the near future and safe travels always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is off season here, but we requested an ocean front room. The front desk clerk was very accommodating. The hotel is large and was pretty vacant . Our room was comfortable and had a nice size refrigerator and a microwave. The beds and bedding were comfortable and the room spacious and clean. Nothing fancy, but the price was right and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: The third floor gave a great view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank You very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and input and look forward to being of service to you again. Safe Travels always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The elevator wasn't working properly and we were on the 3rd floor. The walk-ways were icy and there was no attempt to clear them to make it less hazardous for the patrons. The seal to the door of the room was insufficient for keeping the cold air from blowing into the room - a lit candle held near the door would have been blown out. The soda and ice machines were mostly non-functioning. The water knob on the bath/shower was very difficult to turn off (almost impossible without a wrench) and it was running a steady stream when we checked into the room. The shower head needed cleaning so that the water will spray properly. The temperature differential on the heater was too great - the heater would heat several degrees beyond the desired temp and then the A/C fan would come on to cool it down. The heat would drop too low before coming back on. The A/C fan was very noisy. We finally figured out a setting that didn't cause the A/C to come on and we stayed cool most of the time for setting it that way. The breakfast had issues too but it was tolerable. The staff was uniformly nice and the view (which we basically paid an extra $30 for, was fantastic. The view was the redeeming aspect of the stay.

Room Tip: There is no "view" of the ocean because of the sand dunes, unless you pay extra for a top...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jteble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are sadden that your stay was disappointing. We have taken your comments to all of our staff so that we can review where we perhaps need to adjust the way we are doing something. Hopefully you allow us to redeem ourselves in the furture and we can be of service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $92 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing