We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay 90% of the time in "Choice Hotels" when we travel and this one did not disappoint. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was well presented and fulfilled our needs. And the location was great! Right on the beach with showers on the beach access to wash the sand off before going back to the room. If you go to the outer banks for a few days this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesbigfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    94
    75
    39
    33
See reviews for
97
107
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this motel in July 2013 while on vacation in the OBX .

Pros : Good location, friendly front desk staff . Surprisingly the bed sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. Pool. Beach access

Cons: Too expensive for what it is, cleanliness, poor management, old building in disrepair. Dirty motel rooms. We had to speak to 4 persons to solve a problem.

We are new members of this brand but we are reconsidering it. I would like to say right at the beginning that we are not picky people. We have been on the road a lot lately and we stayed in many different hotel brands. I have worked as a maid in different hotels in the past, I KNOW when it’s clean and when it’s not. This place is not.

When we checked in we took a look at our room and noticed how dirty the room was. There was mold everywhere in the room, on the ceiling, inside the picture frames, even on the hair dryer electrical cord. The smell was unbearable and it was probably not even healthy. We took the room as is on the first night but reported it to 2 different staff (front desk and cleaning acting manager). The next day, upon our return after dinner, we found the room being worst than the day before, it had not been cleaned at all. We then reported the situation to the night manager and offered him to take a look at our room so he could report it accurately. He didn’t mind looking at our room and just offered us another room. He was not interested hearing from us and rudely said: “are you taking this room?”. He couldn’t care less. The next morning, the cleaning manager blamed it on a language issue from her staff, saying that they understood to not clean our room! The cleaning staff was a bunch of probably underpaid foreign students that don’t seem to care. We were not impressed the way they managed the situation.


This place is an old building in disrepair. I understand this motel is by the ocean and of course it is humid, but I don’t think the lamp shade full of dust, (I could write my name on it and it’s probably still there) the filthy carpet, the stains on the walls, the drawers full of sand, the noisy a/c, and the dripping bathtub faucet have anything to do with the fact that it’s close from the ocean and humid. This place is poorly managed, and it’s obvious that the ownership doesn’t care.

This place doesn’t worth the money. There are too many options out there to book at this motel. Make yourself a favour and spend your money to a nicer place for your vacation! I would never go back and would NOT recommend to a friend. I don’t understand how AAA can recommend this place.

If you just want a place to crash after spending the day on the beach instead of camping and you don’t care living in a filthy place and breathing mold and paying for it, well this place is for you!

Room 334 and 330

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcat781245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Mr. Gagnon, I want to Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I have also received your complaint from Choice Hotels International and will be investigating your claims and I will be making contact with you very soon.. Thank You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The place is suitable for sea lovers because this hotel is next to a public entrance to the beach.
The room was clean and the breakfast was good.
When we have been there, it was high season and the price was excessive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Adviosr. We are glad you had a good on the Outer Banks, the best beach for families. Thanks again and hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the location was perfect for dinning out and activities close by.The staff in the front office were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the views of the ocean were beautiful.The pool and the beach access were really easy to get to.we will definitely come back and stay again !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obxbum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and input and look forward to being of service to you in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of our room and property after reading some of the reviews it had. It was well signed and easy to get to. The front lobby was nice, the breakfast dining room was inviting and had a very good selection of food ....and plenty of it. The room did not face the beach for a view (which we knew when we booked the room), but if you walked by the pool you are on the beach. Our room was on the ground floor, clean and well presented. The bathroom was clean, good hot water, and plenty of bath towels supplied. The Wi-Fi did not work at all. The only help the front desk could give us was to offer the use of their front lobby computers placed for guests.....which we did not end up using. We would not hesitate to stay there if we return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and input as well as the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been traveling to nicer hotels around the world, I wasn't asking much from a place like this for an overnight stay on my way to Cap Hatteras however it wasn't that cheap for the room's obvious lack of maintenance. The bathroom was damaged by time and previous guests. Room old but fairly clean. The breakfast was of the survival type served in foam tableware (as many hotels do in this region). I had similar rooms in the area for almost half the price. Lobby personnel at reception wasn't accommodating when asking for a room at ground level (maybe because we used an online 3pp for booking instead of going direct to the hotel). I will try to find another hotel on my next journey in the area...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and input and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room on the third (top) floor. I can't imagine staying here if you didn't have a view of the ocean. Our room was very clean and the staff very friendly. The property is old and because of the salt air, shows its age. They provide a complimentary breakfast, which was very good. It seems expensive for the condition of the rooms and property, however, this is my first time to the area and so don't know what other hotels charge and how they compare to the condition of the rooms. The location is good, very close to the Wright Brothers Memorial. If you are in the area for just a night or two, this property is a good choice. If you are planning to spend a week or more, I think I would look for a vacation rental.

Room Tip: I think it is worth it to pay extra to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPKKCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and input they are valuable to us, Thanks again for letting us be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kill Devil Hills hotels
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.6 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing