We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our weekend getaway was very relaxing it dosent get any better than the outerbanks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
“Our weekend getaway was very relaxing it dosent get any better than the outerbanks!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the location was perfect for dinning out and activities close by.The staff in the front office were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the views of the ocean were beautiful.The pool and the beach access were really easy to get to.we will definitely come back and stay again !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obxbum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and input and look forward to being of service to you in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    80
    41
    33
See reviews for
100
113
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of our room and property after reading some of the reviews it had. It was well signed and easy to get to. The front lobby was nice, the breakfast dining room was inviting and had a very good selection of food ....and plenty of it. The room did not face the beach for a view (which we knew when we booked the room), but if you walked by the pool you are on the beach. Our room was on the ground floor, clean and well presented. The bathroom was clean, good hot water, and plenty of bath towels supplied. The Wi-Fi did not work at all. The only help the front desk could give us was to offer the use of their front lobby computers placed for guests.....which we did not end up using. We would not hesitate to stay there if we return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and input as well as the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been traveling to nicer hotels around the world, I wasn't asking much from a place like this for an overnight stay on my way to Cap Hatteras however it wasn't that cheap for the room's obvious lack of maintenance. The bathroom was damaged by time and previous guests. Room old but fairly clean. The breakfast was of the survival type served in foam tableware (as many hotels do in this region). I had similar rooms in the area for almost half the price. Lobby personnel at reception wasn't accommodating when asking for a room at ground level (maybe because we used an online 3pp for booking instead of going direct to the hotel). I will try to find another hotel on my next journey in the area...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and input and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Hudson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room on the third (top) floor. I can't imagine staying here if you didn't have a view of the ocean. Our room was very clean and the staff very friendly. The property is old and because of the salt air, shows its age. They provide a complimentary breakfast, which was very good. It seems expensive for the condition of the rooms and property, however, this is my first time to the area and so don't know what other hotels charge and how they compare to the condition of the rooms. The location is good, very close to the Wright Brothers Memorial. If you are in the area for just a night or two, this property is a good choice. If you are planning to spend a week or more, I think I would look for a vacation rental.

Room Tip: I think it is worth it to pay extra to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPKKCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and input they are valuable to us, Thanks again for letting us be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back from a few days in OBX. Stayed here because it was on the beach and good value. Pool is smaller than the photos look. Rooms are clean, comfy beds and can't beat location. My only complaint is the guests tend to leave trash and butts around and the staff could do a better job keeping the place clean on the outside.

Room Tip: We like the first floor dune view. Easy walk to the beach and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmw9767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your input and Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is just 200 ft from the beach that makes it available any time during the day. The place is popular the families. Most of the rooms are sideways to the ocean.
One big advantage of the hotel location is that it is half mile away from Wright brothers memorial to the first flight. We spent half day at that memorial and had a lot of fun.
Staff was friendly. They even had concierge available every day in the lobby.
Complimentary fresh coffee was available during the day.
Internet in the room was so slow that it was basically impossible to use. I could barely get a signal on my laptop and could not see any Wi-Fi networks from the hotel on my iPhone.
Another disadvantage - noisy AC in the room. Some nights we preferred to turn on only fan and not AC to be able to sleep.
Beds were comfortable. The room was simple, but clean.
Hotel doesn't have a gym, but they provide complimentary passes to YMCA that is 10 min away by car from the hotel. We didn't check it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and the opportunity of being of service to you and yours. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just returned from the Outer Banks after staying at the Quality Inn in Kill Devil Hills, NC from July 12 to the 14th. The motel was comfortable and convenient to most restaurants and shops. Upon check-in the front desk staff were quick and efficient. The room had a 2 double beds that were very clean and comfortable. The motel offers free breakfast, the only complaint is that the area to sit and eat gets crowded and there is not much room when other guests are there getting food. The pool was the real disappointment of the stay. No jacuzzi, very few lounge chairs. I have stayed at the Best Western just down the street that has a very nice pool area with a jacuzzi. Overall, the motel was clean, older (but most are), the staff was helpful and friendly, and the room was clean....There is only 1 elevator so get use to walking up stairs to get to your room.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldw703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all comments and suggestions, they are important to us. Thanks again for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing