We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed three nights over July 4th weekend. Pricey, but you pay for location. Beach is literally a one/two minute walk which we really liked. The pool looked decent, but we never got in it. Like reviewer EquinoxSS, our room also had a peculiar smell upon arrival, but apparently we got used to it or it dissipated. Our room was nice and clean, our only complaint being the shower faucet would forever trickle water. The motel has several different internet routers available. At first I couldn't connect, but just switched to a different router and then had no problems with any of our three devices connecting to internet. If one doesn't work for you, 'search' for available wireless on your device for one of the others. Breakfast is typical motel lobby fare, and very crowded. Property is getting a little long in the tooth, but I imagine it's nearly impossible to keep up with considering the countless families dragging water and sand into the rooms. We didn't think the place was *bad* by any means, but you won't mistake it for the Ritz-Carlton either.

Room Tip: If you're intending to schlep stuff to-and-from the beach, try to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workin4theman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your comments, input, and general information for others to see. Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    68
    35
    26
See reviews for
86
97
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special but a good clean room on the beach near a lot of attractions. One wont be overwhelmed with ahh but it's a quality inn. Basic good amenities. Good beach access. Good cost. Slow wifi. Adequate pool. Good parking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments intput, opinions, etc as they are all important to us. We wish you safe travels and hope we get to be of service to you in the near furture. Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on this hotel, during 4th July weekend, charged $200 per day plus tax

Pros:

- Breakfast was ok, few choices were available.

- Enough parking spaces

- Very close to Ocean as the name “oceanfront” suggests

Cons:

- The room was having acute phenyl like smell, almost unbearable. Second night it was relatively low (or probably we became used to it).

- Wireless does not work. This is the first time I saw wireless connection is so poor in a hotel that it can’t connect. I asked reception staff multiple times to fix it, and they suggested to call a “Tech support number”, unbelievable. I even called them and “tech support” suggested we’ll check it later. Internet is vital during hotel stay, and I could not complete many activities due to this.

- Room is dirty, not properly cleaned. We found insects on the bathroom floor.

Overall it’s very bad experience. I’ll not recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EquinoxSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all comments and suggestions they are important to us, I will be sure to bring up your items mentioned at our next meeting and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We live in Durham and decided to go to the outer banks at noon on one Saturday, and we were at the beach in the evening of that same day. Not much time to plan and search for a place to stay. We simply looked on the internet and tried to find a name that we could recognize and with an affordable price. We chose this hotel and paid $200 for a night. The room was okay, with TV and shower and the basic things. The only problem was that it was pretty humid inside; the comforter almost seemed to be wet, even after the air conditioner had been working for quite some time. I guess it's a problem hard to avoid, especially for a room on the ground floor at the beach. Nevertheless, it's a beachfront hotel, and we enjoyed walking to the beach to play and walking back to our room to shower and change clothes. It was also very close to the Wright Brothers Memorial and many nice restaurants. The breakfast was also nice. We liked to play with the pancake machines. If we had time, we would surely look for a better place with a better price, but this hotel was acceptable as a place to sleep in our impromptu trip.

Room Tip: Try not to choose the rooms on the ground floor as those might be very humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yen-Yu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advior. We appreciate all comment, and take them serious and appreciate your time. Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The convenience is that it is on the beach, and it is across from the Wright Brothers Museum and Monument. The room however is a little outdated...... the airconditioner made quite a bit of noise, few outlets for charging, lamps are old, etc. I arrived late at the hotel, and the man at check-in was very helpful with information. The free breakfast was OK, but very crowded and busy. The kitchen help was constantly refilling and cleaning.

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd floor, and they do have an elevator. I was closer to the Monument side, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we know your time is just as important to you as you comments are to us, Thanks for allowing us to be of service to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 2 other friends from Wednesday June 19th-24th 2013. I was in town for a friends wedding at Jeanette's Pier. We arrived to town around 1pm and were allowed to check in early which is always a good start to a trip. Check-in is not normally until 4pm at this location. We had room 207 which is located on the second floor facing the parking lot. When we came out of room and stood at the balcony, we could see the Wright Brothers memorial If we looked left and up the hill, and if we looked right we could see the ocean. Our room had two double beds and we could tell that the bedding was recently updated and quite comfy. Our room also had a mini fridge, microwave, table and chairs, shower with tub. All of your basic amenities. This location offers a free breakfast that included, make your own waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy, cereals, muffins, fruits and yogurt. It was a great way to start off our mornings without having to pay out of pocket somewhere else. This hotel has a nice pool, it was never too packed when we were down there splashing around. My only complaint at the pool would be to have some tables with umbrellas. I am very fair skinned and there was absolutely no shade around the pool. This forced me to cut my pool time short as I could feel my skin frying. Had there been some tables with umbrellas I would have spent even more time there. The Quality inn also has its own beach access or you can use the public beach access which is right next to the parking lot. We mainly used the public access because it was closer to the parking lot and we could put our chairs right back into the car. Both accesses had showers to clean the sand off which was convenient. This hotel also offers free Wi-Fi which we can all take advantage of these days. I thought that the location of the Quality inn Carolina oceanfront was perfect. You were right on the beach but also close enough to so many things in town. I would agree with some of the other travelers that the hotel was a little dated, however I also think that the salty ocean air and storms will take a toll on all buildings after a while. Overall, I would definitely stay at this establishment again on my future trips to OBX.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you and yours. Yes, the salt air does take a toll on beach property's no matter location, and we are always doing some sort of upgrades. Again Thank You and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is on the beach, a great location that is close to alot of attractions, such as the Wright's Brothers Monument. It has a real nice, updated, clean pool. The rooms are very nice and clean with great maid service. Also, they have a very nice, free breakfast with lots of chioces, such as biscuits and gravy, waffles, yogurt, cereal and fruit. The only thing that I didn't like was that the door handles need to be updated because it is hard to get in the room. Also, wish they had more than one elevator. Its a very long walk if you get a room closest to the beach because the elevator is on the front of the building.

Room Tip: If you get a room on 3rd floor, or closest to the beach, you will have to walk a long way to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabreeze43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you, have a great summer and safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N. Virginia Dare Trail, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing