We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is on the beach, a great location that is close to alot of attractions, such as the Wright's Brothers Monument. It has a real nice, updated, clean pool. The rooms are very nice and clean with great maid service. Also, they have a very nice, free breakfast with lots of chioces, such as biscuits and gravy, waffles, yogurt, cereal and fruit. The only thing that I didn't like was that the door handles need to be updated because it is hard to get in the room. Also, wish they had more than one elevator. Its a very long walk if you get a room closest to the beach because the elevator is on the front of the building.

Room Tip: If you get a room on 3rd floor, or closest to the beach, you will have to walk a long way to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabreeze43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you, have a great summer and safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    99
    86
    44
    40
See reviews for
108
123
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel was right on the Outer Banks Oceanfront, the Hotel was dated, the room was good sized but furniture was old and cleaning had looked like it was general quick cleaning with no particular to details and dusting.
The Showers at the beach the handles had been removed so you couldn't turn the showers on, we went out of the hotel and to the left side facing the beach there is a public access with parking and we used the showers there to clean the sand off of us.
The breakfast was ok, loved the waffles, wish they had some items for suitable for people wishing to have less carbs (more protiens like breakfast sausage or bacon).

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have good side view of the ocean toward the back near the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately we did have a few days where the shower handles had to be replaced, they are now back in full service. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. Thanks again, safe travels and a fun summer to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Along the OBX in Kill Devil Hills there are many beachside hotels. We chose the Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront.

I would not chose it again. Here is why: the room smelled musty, the carpet was dirty and covered with stains from whatever previous guests had spilled, the air conditioner/heater was badly rusted around the base, the exhaust fan in the bath could not be shut off and their WIFI system would not work. The buffet breakfast was OK.

But, for what you pay, it is not a hotel that I will revisit. It really, in my opinion, is in need of major renovations and updating. But that is just my opinion...the choice is yours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatori1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We strive to make sure every guest has a comfortable and safe trip, your comment has been noted and the items mentioned will be looked at as noted upon check out as well. Safe Travel and Blessings to you and yours. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everything else was great, but on our fourth day, house keeping stole my wife's prescription pain pills. They were packed in her suitcase so the housekeeper had to go out of his/her way to get to them. Then they left our door propped open, we assume so that we could not accuse them of taking our medicine. We were here during a slow time, so fortunately, no one else noticed that our door was open. But the going through our bags, stealing our medicine, and then leaving our door open so that anyone who happened to notice could come steal the rest of our stuff is unacceptable. We have not checked out yet. I have informed the staff and I will edit my review accordingly if they handle this in an acceptable manner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jdolson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we strive to make sure every guest has a safe and comfortable stay. Per our previous conversation this type of incident is not an issue at our hotel, please make contact with the proper persons on the report of this claim as we discussed before. Thank you again for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had what they called a partial view but a had a perfect view of the water with a private balcony, he staff was very nice and the free breakfast was a nice thing. the outside of the hotel is somewhat bland but do not let tat deter you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kriswasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are excited that you enjoyed the beautiful Atlantic Ocean right from your room, and Thank You for kind comment of our Staff, we are always happy to be of service. Hope to see you soon. Safe Travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This Quality Inn has been recently refurbished, and nicely so. Our oceanfront "partial ocean view" room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and well equipped. We enjoyed the private balcony with a very nice view of the ocean over the Dunes. (There is a narrow driveway between the motel and the dunes, but it caused no problems.) Everything worked OK.. A/C, Hot water, microwave, fridge, etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. Expect a big crowd, with groups, for various events, but the hotel seems to handle them well. Priced about the same as others in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We were glad to be of service to you and hope to see you in the near future. Have a safe trip and a safer summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in many hotels in OBX and this one is a very great affordable option... Of course, during tourist season the rates are going much higher but it's the same everywhere anyway!!!

Great welcoming customer service... As usual as a diamond member I got a free complimentary upgrade room with ocean view...

Very nice double beds room with fridge, microwave and flat screen tv... The Internet was pretty good most of the time...

Very safe parking area and direct ramp access to the beach for evening walk and morning jogging at sunrise...

I was not very impress with breakfast, I'm maybe too picky, but it the usual basic options like every standard Choice hotels...

I will be back...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. When allotted we try to upgrade our loyal member and glad we were able to do that at this time, we greatly appreciate your business and were glad to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing