We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for an oceanfront hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a visit to the Outer Banks in July 2012. The building construction and room layout is pretty typical of an older, external entry Quality Inn. However, the lobby and breakfast area is larger and nicer than I would expect of most Quality Inns. While an older property, it has been well cared for and looked like it recently had a significant renovation. Most of the contents of the room (bathroom fixtures, furniture, carpet, bedding, etc) looked quite new. The rooms were well furnished for a hotel of this type, with a flat screen tv, mini-fridge, and microwave.

The majority of the rooms had a view of the parking area, but a few rooms faced the ocean. However, there was a sand dune between the hotel and ocean, so I doubt anyone that wasn't on the 3rd floor could see the water. There was a nice outdoor pool and patio area between the hotel and the water, but it too did not really have a view of the water. In any event, the hotel is oceanfront and just a few steps from a scenic beach.

The free breakfast was better than average for a Quality Inn and had a nice variety of hot and cold items. There was also abundant seating available.

While this hotel was not cheap, nothing desirable on the ocean is during peak season. This hotel has more than adequate facilities, is well kept, and is a pretty good value. The staff we interacted with were also very friendly.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wx-man93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We would like to Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. Hoping that you will have the opportunity to have a longer stay with us on you next visit, Thank You for expressing how well he have mainted our property, beach front can be a challenge and our guest make it especially worth all that we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 326 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great stay here. Ocean was so close and easy to get to. Our room, eventhough it didnt specify it when we booked, was an ocean view. Request a top floor if you can, and you can see the ocean. First floor cant see it. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was great. Wish we could have stayed here longer. Kids loved catching the ghost crabs at night! Parking was right outside our room. They only have one elevator, so unless your close to the front you will have to take the stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. We also, are hoping that on your next visit you will be able to stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family of 4 recently stayed at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront during our visit to the Outer Banks. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. We loved the easy access to the beach. I enjoyed seeing all the families with young children who stayed at the hotel. It seems to be a very family-friendly facility.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We would like to Thank You for taking the time to reveiw our hotel. It is always nice to know when our guests have a good time, and some of them even become our family. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in a ground floor king suite with our two young boys. The room was very large, clean and no funky smell. It had a couch, chair, table (with 4 chairs), mini-fridge, microwave, LCD TV, and a large closet and bathroom. The room was so large it required two AC units which kept the room very cool. The AC unit controls were on the unit so my 2 year old enjoyed turning the unit on and off. The bed comfort was better then average (I didn't wake up with any limbs asleep during the night).

We didn't get a chance to try out the pool but the beach access was excellent. There is a very nice beach umbrella rental service at the edge of the beach and hotel access. They charge $15/day for 1 umbrella and 2 chairs and it can be charged to the room. They will setup the umbrella for you and take it down at the end of the day. One downside of the beach access was the shower off area. The showers need some updating and there isn't a foot rinse area so you have to try to get the sand off of your feet with a low pressure shower.

The breakfast was good. There was your typical hotel food options. The hotel lobby was nice and the staff was friendly.

The price of the room during peak beach season I think was very reasonable and we were very happy with our stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We would like to Thank You for taking the time review our hotel. This will be our second year having the Cabana's and we have found that the guest really apprciate not having to go else where to rent umbrella's or purchase them and not be able to take them back. Thank you for pointing them out and we hope that you get to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband, 2 young children (ages 5 & 3), and my parents. Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant and met our needs adequately. It is a beachfront hotel with easy beach-access, but it also has a nice outdoor pool. The pool area was clean with plenty of chairs. Since there were 6 of us, the hotel was able to give us adjoining rooms. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The walls seemed to be very thick, which was GREAT! We didn't hear any of our neighbors and could barely hear any outside noise! The best part of this hotel was the location. It was close to many of the sites and attractions that we wanted to see! And parking was never a problem, even though the hotel was very full during our visit. Another great thing about this hotel is that it offers a continental breakfast. This mostly consists of waffles, cereal, yogurt, biscuits/gravy, English muffins, etc. (We did not see anything hot, like eggs or sausage). However, this was fine with us and we all enjoyed the food they had to offer! There were plenty of tables in the dining area and the breakfast lasted until 10am...so there was lots of room to move around and plenty of time to enjoy the breakfast! Overall, our stay here was very pleasant and I would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMamaOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Staying on the oceanfront was great. The room was kinda pricey as we stayed at a three star hotel for less four weeks earlier. The room had that ocean smell, which was not really bad, but not fresh smelling either. The carpet could have used a shampoo, and the pillows are pretty worthless. Bring your own pillows. The bathroom was dirty... visibly, although the tub/shower was clean as was the counter. My wife was worried about walking barefoot. Nice continental breakfast, but probably average for this type of accomodation. The free coffee was good. Would repeat the visit if the room cost about 40% less.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a third floor room with small private ocean front balcony. Great view - very relaxing end of a busy week. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and good a/c. Small fridge & microwave. There is an elevator at the far opposite side of the complex - it seemed just as easy to drag luggage up the stairs instead.

The beach is down just one flight of stairs from the parking lot. There's an open air shower to wash off sand. The pool sits off to the side at the top of the dune.

Bring a flashlight and head back to the beach after dark to look for ghost crabs. There were four or five families shrieking with every crab found. Fun end to the day.

Room Tip: First floor ocean front rooms don't have an ocean view - the dunes block the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackLab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,280 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $66 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing