We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a ground floor king suite with our two young boys. The room was very large, clean and no funky smell. It had a couch, chair, table (with 4 chairs), mini-fridge, microwave, LCD TV, and a large closet and bathroom. The room was so large it required two AC units which kept the room very cool. The AC unit controls were on the unit so my 2 year old enjoyed turning the unit on and off. The bed comfort was better then average (I didn't wake up with any limbs asleep during the night).

We didn't get a chance to try out the pool but the beach access was excellent. There is a very nice beach umbrella rental service at the edge of the beach and hotel access. They charge $15/day for 1 umbrella and 2 chairs and it can be charged to the room. They will setup the umbrella for you and take it down at the end of the day. One downside of the beach access was the shower off area. The showers need some updating and there isn't a foot rinse area so you have to try to get the sand off of your feet with a low pressure shower.

The breakfast was good. There was your typical hotel food options. The hotel lobby was nice and the staff was friendly.

The price of the room during peak beach season I think was very reasonable and we were very happy with our stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We would like to Thank You for taking the time review our hotel. This will be our second year having the Cabana's and we have found that the guest really apprciate not having to go else where to rent umbrella's or purchase them and not be able to take them back. Thank you for pointing them out and we hope that you get to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    97
    83
    42
    34
See reviews for
102
116
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband, 2 young children (ages 5 & 3), and my parents. Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant and met our needs adequately. It is a beachfront hotel with easy beach-access, but it also has a nice outdoor pool. The pool area was clean with plenty of chairs. Since there were 6 of us, the hotel was able to give us adjoining rooms. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The walls seemed to be very thick, which was GREAT! We didn't hear any of our neighbors and could barely hear any outside noise! The best part of this hotel was the location. It was close to many of the sites and attractions that we wanted to see! And parking was never a problem, even though the hotel was very full during our visit. Another great thing about this hotel is that it offers a continental breakfast. This mostly consists of waffles, cereal, yogurt, biscuits/gravy, English muffins, etc. (We did not see anything hot, like eggs or sausage). However, this was fine with us and we all enjoyed the food they had to offer! There were plenty of tables in the dining area and the breakfast lasted until 10am...so there was lots of room to move around and plenty of time to enjoy the breakfast! Overall, our stay here was very pleasant and I would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMamaOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Staying on the oceanfront was great. The room was kinda pricey as we stayed at a three star hotel for less four weeks earlier. The room had that ocean smell, which was not really bad, but not fresh smelling either. The carpet could have used a shampoo, and the pillows are pretty worthless. Bring your own pillows. The bathroom was dirty... visibly, although the tub/shower was clean as was the counter. My wife was worried about walking barefoot. Nice continental breakfast, but probably average for this type of accomodation. The free coffee was good. Would repeat the visit if the room cost about 40% less.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a third floor room with small private ocean front balcony. Great view - very relaxing end of a busy week. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and good a/c. Small fridge & microwave. There is an elevator at the far opposite side of the complex - it seemed just as easy to drag luggage up the stairs instead.

The beach is down just one flight of stairs from the parking lot. There's an open air shower to wash off sand. The pool sits off to the side at the top of the dune.

Bring a flashlight and head back to the beach after dark to look for ghost crabs. There were four or five families shrieking with every crab found. Fun end to the day.

Room Tip: First floor ocean front rooms don't have an ocean view - the dunes block the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackLab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our family stayed for an extended weekend for our first family vacation. We had an oceanfront room. Kinda wish the hotel had more than 3 floors, so we could be higher up, but the view was nice either way. The beds weren't too comfy for me, but my husband had no complaints. The breakfast selection was GREAT! A lot to choose from. The only complaint we had was, the a/c unit leaked lots of water outside on our balcony. You'd walk through a huge puddle of water. The a/c unit was also VERY loud! They only have one elevator on the other side of the building, near the lobby, but stairs were accessible. We really have no complaints other than that. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDea1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were scrambling to find a place in OBX for an overnight in order to attend the Cupcake 5K race to raise awareness for cancer research, and the Quality Inn was one of a handful of hotels with vacancy. Did not have high expectations, but wow! The front desk staff was tremendous in helping find a great dinner spot and so welcoming. The room we had was really quiet, we could not tell there was anyone staying next to or above us, and it was very clean with free wi-fi which was essential to us. Great breakfast, and you walk right out onto the beach! Would definitely stay here again, no questions asked.

Room Tip: King size bed lent itself to a very sound sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBXOutfitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

my husband and I travel a lot and we are choosey with our hotel stays. We stayed here one night and it was ok. The location of this hotel is great because it's close to the beach. The room that we had had a gross smell to it. The staff was friendly though. It was pretty pricey for what we paid for. Not going back there again.

Room Tip: pay a little bit more for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalredrose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing