We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Buffet Restaurant”

Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for a Buffet Restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to Captain George's our second night in the Outer Banks for dinner. The service was exceptional, we were sat in the sport bar area which seems to have a different set up in terms of wait staff and atmosphere then the main dinning room.

Just go into the place with the mind set that its a buffet restaurant and not a five star dinning establishment. They do however offer menu items if you don't want the buffet. We didn't order any so I can comment on them.

I found for a buffet restaurant the food on the buffet was very fresh and well done. The server took our used plates and shells, etc way often and regularly. I do think the price was a bit high for the buffet, so be sure to go in with a big appetite to get your money's worth. They also have a great dessert selection for a buffet, not just your usual items.

If we get back to the area I'm pretty sure we'll make a return visit. It was fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    293
    138
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley AZ
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great seafood and prime rib”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is our second time and we found it delightfull. Clean-plenty of selection at buffet or non buffet. Service friendly and good parking!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the service and the desserts. The seafood was disappointing, all of it, I think it was all frozen, nothing fresh, except for the oysters and clams. This is the 2nd time I have eaten here and it was the same the 1st time we came in. This time it was a large group of friends, otherwise I would not have chosen this restaurant. In addition, this is one big tourist trap, and half of them have no sense of appropriate dress code for dining out. If you want to stuff yourself like there is no tomorrow, they serve it up, no quality, but quantity.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service. Food not.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

While we did get good service we were disappointed in the food. All about quantity, not quality. This place was packed but the food was like cafeteria quality. I didn't feel like anything was local, just standard seafood buffet you could get anywhere. At the beach, in front of the Atlantic Ocean I at least expect some sort of local faire!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KThompson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Buffet on the beach!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant simply by accident. The first "buffet" was closed, so we randomly chose Captain George's. This restaurant is very clean and well maintained. Also, they scored 99/100 on their health inspection.
The service was very prompt, even though there was a bus load of tourists.
The buffet was amazing, great variety - steamed shrimp, crab legs, she crab soup, flounder, mahi mahi, tuna, clams, oysters, scallops, hush puppies, prime rib, baked chicken, ribs and more!
The food was well prepared and the buffet was tended well. Overall great dinner. Also, I loved the tropical smelling salt scrub in the ladies room!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH also viewed

 

Been to Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing