We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous buffet!”

Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband really wanted all kinds of seafood and couldn't make up his mind, so we ended up at Captain George's. The food was hot and delicious. The pecan pie was hands down the very best I have ever tasted!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hbrittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    276
    131
    52
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

They have a huge buffet and a bar menu if you don't want to pig out. I ate from the bar menu and my friend ate from the buffet - we were both very happy with our selections. Atmosphere was very pleasing and they have a fireplace that was going and fun too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveAruba24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Buffets are too much food for me, so I had a burger......big and tasty. My spouse had the buffet and ate and ate and ate the crablegs and shrimp. Our waitress, Lisa, was friendly and helpful. Service is good and tables plates are cleared quickly. The buffet is kept clean and well stocked with local fish as well as the shellfish. The decor is really elegant for a buffet !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Service...Food..Average at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We took 3 families, a party of 14 to Captain George for our annual dinner night out during our OBX vacation. We decided to try Captain Georges. The service was delightful and attentive to our needs, but afterall it is a Buffet so how hard is that ? The atmosphere is also very nice; however in my book you do not pay $31 to eat at a nice looking place with friendly servers. The food on the buffet was merely average. I stocked up on crab legs and they were decent, but most of the other food was fried and or overcooked. The concencous of our group is that we will not be returning next year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Might be part of a chain but you'd never know it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is a large, buffet-based family restaurant which the night we tried it was very crowded. We were both tired and after browsing the buffet decided we'd order off the menu. Our server was just great and made some suggestions from the menu and knew all the offerings very well. We both ordered Angus burgers and they were just great. We also liked the atmosphere and would return to try the buffet. One nice feature was having our own small TV at the table which was tunable to any station we wished. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldGIRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing