We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Buffet”

Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Buffet”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Buffets are too much food for me, so I had a burger......big and tasty. My spouse had the buffet and ate and ate and ate the crablegs and shrimp. Our waitress, Lisa, was friendly and helpful. Service is good and tables plates are cleared quickly. The buffet is kept clean and well stocked with local fish as well as the shellfish. The decor is really elegant for a buffet !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    299
    142
    56
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Service...Food..Average at best.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We took 3 families, a party of 14 to Captain George for our annual dinner night out during our OBX vacation. We decided to try Captain Georges. The service was delightful and attentive to our needs, but afterall it is a Buffet so how hard is that ? The atmosphere is also very nice; however in my book you do not pay $31 to eat at a nice looking place with friendly servers. The food on the buffet was merely average. I stocked up on crab legs and they were decent, but most of the other food was fried and or overcooked. The concencous of our group is that we will not be returning next year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Might be part of a chain but you'd never know it.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is a large, buffet-based family restaurant which the night we tried it was very crowded. We were both tired and after browsing the buffet decided we'd order off the menu. Our server was just great and made some suggestions from the menu and knew all the offerings very well. We both ordered Angus burgers and they were just great. We also liked the atmosphere and would return to try the buffet. One nice feature was having our own small TV at the table which was tunable to any station we wished. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldGIRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY disappointed”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I went here for our "special dinner" of our vacation in OBX. We were anticipating an evening of exceptional seafood at what was "advertised" as the best seafood buffet in town. Upon our arrival, we confirmed that the building, furnishings, and atmosphere were upscale. The staff was friendly and very attentive. Now, the BAD news. The food on the buffet was, for the most part, over-cooked. Of what we ate specifically, the salmon was dry, the scallops were rubbery, and the shrimp was mushy. Furthermore, several of the selections were lukewarm. As it turned out, my wife's dinner, which cost $31.00 (plus tax), consisted primarily of broccoli and dessert. For an establishment of such reputation, this is not acceptable under ANY condition. So much for our "special dinner". Be advised.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Worth it!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great food, great selection, nice environment, not your typical buffet restaurant, very clean, friendly staff, the only drawback is the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SVKgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH also viewed

 

Been to Captain George's Seafood Restaurant KDH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing