We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hike on a hot day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nags Head Woods Ecological Preserve

Nags Head Woods Ecological Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Outer Banks, this preserve is one of only a few maritime forests left in its natural state.
woodbridge,va
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great hike on a hot day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Even after coming to OBX for many years we had never been to Nags head woods so we made it a point on this trip. It is very scenic, surrounded by forest and lush swap land. We took the sweet gum swamp hike which was about 2.5 mi. There was a particularly steep hill that was sand covered but it was overall a fairly easy hike that my 3 1/2 yr old had no trouble with. We didn't see too much wildlife but really enjoyed the scenery ,especially the vibrant green swamp in the front of the entrance and it was a nice beach break.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very nice change of pace from the beach! Great variety of trails and lengths so there should be something for everyone. We walked the short Center Trail at the visitor center (which is closed on Sundays-at least in Oct.) and then we walked across the road from the parking lot to the left and walked the Discovery Trail & then the Roanoke Trail that ends at the sound. Interesting trails with some signage to help you know what you're looking at or need to look for along the way. Overall a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPMaineVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful counterpoint to beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Variety of trails-I walked some with wife and jogged separately while she was in meetings. Surprising elevation changes seem to take you to different world from flatland of eastern NC. In Fall there were no bugs to contend with and shady walk was very relaxing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jesterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
473 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We walked on many of the trails and had a great time taking in the natural beauty of this place. It's off the beaten path and not easy to find, but worth searching for. We were there for the better part of our day and really enjoyed it. Don't miss it!

Helpful?
2 Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trails and roads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose to walk a few trails here and then drive thru the area too. Nice and peaceful. Thanks Audobon Society!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peaches18G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nags Head Woods Ecological Preserve also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Nags Head Woods Ecological Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing