We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great place but not as advertised! ”

Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This place was good for a small family but there was no pullout couch. The master bedroom was amazing but the second room was a twin bed so it was small for a couple. The guest shower was a joke and barely big enough for a young child! The spacing was great and the balcony was awesome. The bridge leading to Hamilton Cay was crazy so proceed with caution. The garage was not functional because it was full of furniture.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Hiliary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

First time staying at Bermuda Bay, so we chose Hamilton Cay as we have a crawling baby and wanted to avoid stairs. The condo was furnished nicely, clean and spacious. The appliances were new and I liked having a washer/dryer in our unit. Our children loved the pool area which was never too crowded, and the girls (sisters!) working as pool attendants were so sweet (working abroad from Poland - very friendly!)

The condos were new, and they are still developing. The condos were not as close to the pool area as we'd thought, which required a short drive but this didn't bother us too much. Towels and linens were provided which was nice, as were appliances and soap/detergents. I really liked that there were soap dispensers to eliminate wasteful individual packets. Way to go green!

We really have no complaints, the girl Diane who we booked with was very nice, and accommodating.

Cons - There were no deadbolts on the door. There is a keypad to enter the condo, but I would have liked a deadbolt as we have young children and they could have left without us knowing (we moved the heavy coffee table in front of the door just in case). Also, there were NO CURTAINS in the master bedroom so we woke with the sun at 5am which was not a great wake up time for us, we placed blankets over the blinds to subdue the light.

I don't know if pets are allowed, but we saw a fair number of other people who brought dogs with them - I personally have no issue with dogs but it was unexpected.

This really was a nice place to stay, as long as you're ok with not having a beachfront property. You do have to cross the main road, but public parking with beach access was prevalent.

A great place overall!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BG2013Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We rented side by side condos for a family of nine. Each unit had two bedrooms and a pullout couch. They are old buildings but in fair shape. They're located near a sewAge treatment facility so the air is often unpleasant. Both units have three flights of stairs that you constantly need to climb. That gets old very quickly. The outer doors are controlled with a keypad which gave us some problems. One unit actually needed the keypad replaced! You need to drive to the beach and the advertised water park is a joke.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently stayed here, and the other reviewer's are correct about the "bridge" you definitely want to slow down driving over it, parking is in an overgrown sandy terrain area; patio/furniture not clean; but inside is great & spacious - reviewer who wrote about the front door just being able to be opened from anyone tall enough from inside is correct - if you have small children this would be an issue, plenty of room and great location - we did walk to beach not as bad as other's have said & there is a light/crosswalk at the intersection to get to beach. Pool area was nice, however we were not informed that you have to bring a driver's license with you to get an arm band for pool (we walked to pool - not that far away from condo) & didn't have ID with us - thankfully our family member's name who rented condo was on a list and the young lady let us in, we had a great time in pool - only caution is pool grate's are raised and hurts to step on them.
We would definitely return here to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nikita12043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First time booking a vacation rental. Booked a 2-room condo at this property to attend the annual OBX Marathon (during Nov). The photos of the property did not show how clean and spacious it was.

The booking was quick and easy. Our original selection was not available, but we were offered an equally suitable condo for a lesser price. We got the code for the keyless entry the night before and had no issues getting into the condo.

If you just need a place to sleep, cook, and have a good time--this could be the place for you! But consider: the outside is a little different from the inside (at least off-season it is). The inside is neat, well-furnished, and spacious; but outside there were many webs and crawly things. This wasn't really an issue beyond the 1st night's initial shock, but it is something to consider.

There was an issue with the internet the 1st night, but the property manager took time to figure out the problem and quickly resolved it.

The location is quiet. But there are many restaurants and attractions nearby and the beach is barely a minute's drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Desmond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked the reservation through over the phone with expedia.com and was quoted a rate $90 cheaper than what I was charged. I spent the entire day on the phone with the resort and Expedia attempting to clear this up, but that was a bust. The resort could care less and did not bother to call me back until the DAY BEFORE MY TRIP to address my concerns. The Resort Staff Member who returned my call just informed me that my stay was non-refundable and then gave me a code to get into my condo; she did not care that I was being overcharged and did not offer to resolve the situation. It was stay there and pay that extra money, or don't stay there and still pay the extra money because it was all non-refundable. I was told my credit card would be charged at check-in, but it was charged in advance.


The Resort Staff Member told me "Building 1700, Condo XX, Security code: xxxxx", and that was the extent of my interaction with anyone from the resort- I did not see anyone in person and there was not anyone on the resort grounds to speak with. What was not explained is that Building 1700 is a row of condos on a street, that is not Cambridge street like my itinerary stated, located in the very back of the development... there are not signs that point you to the locations and since it is also a residential area, there are not resort signs either. After searching for 20 minutes around the development, we found our condo. The garage was full of old furniture so we had to park in the "guest parking". Guest Parking was a overgrown area across from the condos that was not trimmed; you park your vehicle in sand riddled with debris and overgrown plants. There is not lighting there either, so watch out for the crabs and other wildlife. I saw someone get their vehicle stuck the last day so I would not reccommend parking a car there, SUV or trucks only.

The condo was nicer than I had expected; very roomy and well kept. Looked as if they had just replaced the furniture and decor. Downside, the dryer and dishwasher were not operational. The balcony did not have furniture either, but that is not deal-breaking. There was a living room, family room, eat in kitchen/ dining area, one master bedroom, one guest bedroom, and two full baths. The reservation said it slept 6 and I agree, six people would have been well accommodated as there were two nice sleeper sofas in addition to the bedroom sleeping arrangements.


The development looked run down on the outside and there were areas where they had began to build additional housing units but stopped- I assume they lost funding. The bridge was a little unstable and all the houses could use a good power washing. The pool area needed to be landscaped but overall was in safe condition.


The location was on the other side of the highway, too far to walk to the ocean for most folks. {that is a long walk and crosses a busy highway} The resort's pool area makes up for that since it would be a great place for children...


Would I stay there again? Possibly... but only in an SUV or truck and only if I was given the rate I was quoted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We took our 2 small children on a weekend getaway @ this location. Upon entering the property, we noticed most of the grounds were unkept and that the entire property looked as if it was a ghost town. It appeared they had built the existing properties and just stopped the devlopment. There is a small wooden bridge you "must" drive over to get to theses condos and everytime we drove over it, the planks were popping up under our truck (not to mention the look of it) Our 1st impression of this place was horrible, so bad in fact, that I immediately went to the clubhouse to complain before even going inside the property. There in lies another problem, there is no one managing the club house. To check in, they have a flyer on the front door of the clubhouse instructing you to call the rental agency to get a code for your door. So we did and I immediately addressed my concerns about the property. I was informed this was the only thing they had available and since they had already charged the entire stay (non-refundable) I was stuck. I was assured by the woman on the phone that I would be completely satisfied and she would have the property manager check it to make sure. As I came up to the condo (B1), I found the property manager under our patio picking up busted patio furniture that appeared to have been launched off 1 of the above patios and the trash chute was so full that people were piling their trash on the ground in front of it (which was also next to our door) So we checked the condo and found the inside was way better than the outside. All the construction and appliances were new, the furniture showed a little wear and the housekeeping was lacking. We found trash and things on the floor around the condo and some food left in the freezer. We did have our own garage and a patio that overlooked the rickety bridge but at night we could see the light from the Wright Brothers memorial. There is an airport close by, so you will hear planes and helicopters frequently. Also, the outside of the property was fairly dark and the parking lot (if your vehicle is too big for the garage) is out of sight. You can park in the empty dirt ot right across from front door of the condo but beware of construction debris, sandspurs and other rugged vegetation. The inside of the property was very spacious, full master and second bedroom with a bath, family room and living room as well as open kitchen and dining room. Lots of closet spaces and kitchen amenities. 1 of the major problems we had was the lack of door security, with 2 small children there should have been a way to lock the door from the inside so they couldn't just run out. We had to prop a table against the door to prevent them from just opening it and walking out and like wise anyone else from entering a code and coming right in. However the pool area was very child oriented. It's a bit compact (beach area, lazy river, slide and pool are all small spaces connected in a tight pattern) but it had lots of sprinkling toys in the beach area and it's nice and shallow for little ones. You do have a bit of a walk to get to the pool area, we just drove down there and I would say the closest beach is about 3 blocks away and across a busy highway, so you would need to drive. Our 2nd major problem was the neighbor (they are permanent residents) Every morning at 9 am, the youngest member of the household would crank up his stereo (which is located on the other side of the master) blaring some awful techno club music through the walls and it wouldn't stop! The last day of our stay we said something to the young man and he went to get his parents to confront my husband. Apparently they couldn't understand why we would complain to their obviously adult son, they felt we should have brought it to their attention. I figured "they" would have told him to turn it down themselves with as loud as it was! In my opinion, if you never had to see outside the condo, it would be nice (and if you didn't have any neighbors) But the fact that you have to drive through the entire development (or lack there of) and see most of it overgrown and unkept really takes away from the condo itself.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this property to anyone and like wise would never stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TravelingFrancis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
#16 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay

Address: 1101 Cambridge Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-9511
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $127 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cay At Bermuda Bay Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Hamilton Cay At Bermuda Bay Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing