We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if nothing else is available!”

Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Wake Forest, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Only if nothing else is available!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We rented side by side condos for a family of nine. Each unit had two bedrooms and a pullout couch. They are old buildings but in fair shape. They're located near a sewAge treatment facility so the air is often unpleasant. Both units have three flights of stairs that you constantly need to climb. That gets old very quickly. The outer doors are controlled with a keypad which gave us some problems. One unit actually needed the keypad replaced! You need to drive to the beach and the advertised water park is a joke.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently stayed here, and the other reviewer's are correct about the "bridge" you definitely want to slow down driving over it, parking is in an overgrown sandy terrain area; patio/furniture not clean; but inside is great & spacious - reviewer who wrote about the front door just being able to be opened from anyone tall enough from inside is correct - if you have small children this would be an issue, plenty of room and great location - we did walk to beach not as bad as other's have said & there is a light/crosswalk at the intersection to get to beach. Pool area was nice, however we were not informed that you have to bring a driver's license with you to get an arm band for pool (we walked to pool - not that far away from condo) & didn't have ID with us - thankfully our family member's name who rented condo was on a list and the young lady let us in, we had a great time in pool - only caution is pool grate's are raised and hurts to step on them.
We would definitely return here to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikita12043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First time booking a vacation rental. Booked a 2-room condo at this property to attend the annual OBX Marathon (during Nov). The photos of the property did not show how clean and spacious it was.

The booking was quick and easy. Our original selection was not available, but we were offered an equally suitable condo for a lesser price. We got the code for the keyless entry the night before and had no issues getting into the condo.

If you just need a place to sleep, cook, and have a good time--this could be the place for you! But consider: the outside is a little different from the inside (at least off-season it is). The inside is neat, well-furnished, and spacious; but outside there were many webs and crawly things. This wasn't really an issue beyond the 1st night's initial shock, but it is something to consider.

There was an issue with the internet the 1st night, but the property manager took time to figure out the problem and quickly resolved it.

The location is quiet. But there are many restaurants and attractions nearby and the beach is barely a minute's drive away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Desmond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked the reservation through over the phone with expedia.com and was quoted a rate $90 cheaper than what I was charged. I spent the entire day on the phone with the resort and Expedia attempting to clear this up, but that was a bust. The resort could care less and did not bother to call me back until the DAY BEFORE MY TRIP to address my concerns. The Resort Staff Member who returned my call just informed me that my stay was non-refundable and then gave me a code to get into my condo; she did not care that I was being overcharged and did not offer to resolve the situation. It was stay there and pay that extra money, or don't stay there and still pay the extra money because it was all non-refundable. I was told my credit card would be charged at check-in, but it was charged in advance.


The Resort Staff Member told me "Building 1700, Condo XX, Security code: xxxxx", and that was the extent of my interaction with anyone from the resort- I did not see anyone in person and there was not anyone on the resort grounds to speak with. What was not explained is that Building 1700 is a row of condos on a street, that is not Cambridge street like my itinerary stated, located in the very back of the development... there are not signs that point you to the locations and since it is also a residential area, there are not resort signs either. After searching for 20 minutes around the development, we found our condo. The garage was full of old furniture so we had to park in the "guest parking". Guest Parking was a overgrown area across from the condos that was not trimmed; you park your vehicle in sand riddled with debris and overgrown plants. There is not lighting there either, so watch out for the crabs and other wildlife. I saw someone get their vehicle stuck the last day so I would not reccommend parking a car there, SUV or trucks only.

The condo was nicer than I had expected; very roomy and well kept. Looked as if they had just replaced the furniture and decor. Downside, the dryer and dishwasher were not operational. The balcony did not have furniture either, but that is not deal-breaking. There was a living room, family room, eat in kitchen/ dining area, one master bedroom, one guest bedroom, and two full baths. The reservation said it slept 6 and I agree, six people would have been well accommodated as there were two nice sleeper sofas in addition to the bedroom sleeping arrangements.


The development looked run down on the outside and there were areas where they had began to build additional housing units but stopped- I assume they lost funding. The bridge was a little unstable and all the houses could use a good power washing. The pool area needed to be landscaped but overall was in safe condition.


The location was on the other side of the highway, too far to walk to the ocean for most folks. {that is a long walk and crosses a busy highway} The resort's pool area makes up for that since it would be a great place for children...


Would I stay there again? Possibly... but only in an SUV or truck and only if I was given the rate I was quoted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda-n-Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We took our 2 small children on a weekend getaway @ this location. Upon entering the property, we noticed most of the grounds were unkept and that the entire property looked as if it was a ghost town. It appeared they had built the existing properties and just stopped the devlopment. There is a small wooden bridge you "must" drive over to get to theses condos and everytime we drove over it, the planks were popping up under our truck (not to mention the look of it) Our 1st impression of this place was horrible, so bad in fact, that I immediately went to the clubhouse to complain before even going inside the property. There in lies another problem, there is no one managing the club house. To check in, they have a flyer on the front door of the clubhouse instructing you to call the rental agency to get a code for your door. So we did and I immediately addressed my concerns about the property. I was informed this was the only thing they had available and since they had already charged the entire stay (non-refundable) I was stuck. I was assured by the woman on the phone that I would be completely satisfied and she would have the property manager check it to make sure. As I came up to the condo (B1), I found the property manager under our patio picking up busted patio furniture that appeared to have been launched off 1 of the above patios and the trash chute was so full that people were piling their trash on the ground in front of it (which was also next to our door) So we checked the condo and found the inside was way better than the outside. All the construction and appliances were new, the furniture showed a little wear and the housekeeping was lacking. We found trash and things on the floor around the condo and some food left in the freezer. We did have our own garage and a patio that overlooked the rickety bridge but at night we could see the light from the Wright Brothers memorial. There is an airport close by, so you will hear planes and helicopters frequently. Also, the outside of the property was fairly dark and the parking lot (if your vehicle is too big for the garage) is out of sight. You can park in the empty dirt ot right across from front door of the condo but beware of construction debris, sandspurs and other rugged vegetation. The inside of the property was very spacious, full master and second bedroom with a bath, family room and living room as well as open kitchen and dining room. Lots of closet spaces and kitchen amenities. 1 of the major problems we had was the lack of door security, with 2 small children there should have been a way to lock the door from the inside so they couldn't just run out. We had to prop a table against the door to prevent them from just opening it and walking out and like wise anyone else from entering a code and coming right in. However the pool area was very child oriented. It's a bit compact (beach area, lazy river, slide and pool are all small spaces connected in a tight pattern) but it had lots of sprinkling toys in the beach area and it's nice and shallow for little ones. You do have a bit of a walk to get to the pool area, we just drove down there and I would say the closest beach is about 3 blocks away and across a busy highway, so you would need to drive. Our 2nd major problem was the neighbor (they are permanent residents) Every morning at 9 am, the youngest member of the household would crank up his stereo (which is located on the other side of the master) blaring some awful techno club music through the walls and it wouldn't stop! The last day of our stay we said something to the young man and he went to get his parents to confront my husband. Apparently they couldn't understand why we would complain to their obviously adult son, they felt we should have brought it to their attention. I figured "they" would have told him to turn it down themselves with as loud as it was! In my opinion, if you never had to see outside the condo, it would be nice (and if you didn't have any neighbors) But the fact that you have to drive through the entire development (or lack there of) and see most of it overgrown and unkept really takes away from the condo itself.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this property to anyone and like wise would never stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TravelingFrancis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Lorton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I booked my trip 2 months in advance for the 3 bedroom condo and they called me 3 days before my trip, THREE DAYS, that is scheduled for July 1 and told me that is not available!!! I'm livid! Do NOT RISK booking this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank msethi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAHotelier, Regional Director of Operations at Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Unfortunately we did have an error with our software. We were in contact as soon as the problem presented itself, and offered a refund of one of the 3 nights, and also found alternate accommodations at a 15% discount off of the listed rate. We do apologize for any inconvenience that this caused, however we were able to find a minor glitch in our software, and repair it to prevent it from happening in the future. We did appreciate your patience and cooperation with this matter, and hope that you enjoyed the Bermuda Bay pool and the Kill Devil Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Dead bugs in sink, toothpaste spit on faucet, hair on blankets, sticky floors, crumbs on counter, mold in washing machine. Overall dirty place. No one had been in there for months. There was no water in the toliet bowls and the ice has almost evaporated in the freezer.
Overall, the property looked abandoned. No one was at the welcome center, so you called a 1-800 number. They were very pleasant and when we called them back to let them know of the condition, they sent a housekeeper over promptly. She made it habitable and gave us enough towels for our family. Also, they advertise a pool, but it was not opened yet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redwinedarkchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
#17 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
56 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,432 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay

Property: Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Address: 1101 Cambridge Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-9511
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cay At Bermuda Bay Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Hamilton Cay At Bermuda Bay Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing