We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Condo”
Review of The Golden Strand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Golden Strand
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beachfront Condo”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have been coming here for 12 years. They are always doing up grades ; a new pool a few years ago. This year we have wall mounted flat screens and new couches. My bedroom is about 100' from the ocean. I love sleeping with the window open and hearing the waves crash! This is a perfect family condo. Close to lots of resturants and shop

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I exchanged our timeshare for this 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo and stayed for a week with my husband and another couple in mid-March 2012. The check in was very quick and without asking they gave us a unit with a better view than the one we had been assigned. Very nice of them – thank you very much!

The exterior and interior are nothing fancy and are older but well maintained and clean. The beds seemed new and were very comfortable. They were delivering new sofas the day we departed but not sure how many units were being upgraded. The kitchen seemed to be well stocked even though we did not cook – just made coffee in the morning and cocktails in the afternoon. The condos are right on the beach so we walked in the sand most every day and since it was not the busy season there were not many people and no swimming. There was one restaurant that was walking distance but we did not try it.

There are many interesting places to visit in the area that we enjoyed including Kitty Hawk, Roanoke Island, Fort Raleigh, aquarium, Cape Hatteras, Jockeys Ridge State Park and several light houses. Because of the time of year some attractions and restaurants were not open but we still enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is an older resort but the location makes the place worthwhile. This is our second time staying here; this time we have a 2nd floor unit with a great view of the ocean (2 couples). The unit is well-stocked with paper products, towels, etc., (no beach towels). Knowing there were no washer/dryers in the units we did not plan to do laundry. This time of year the resort was quiet with lifeguards patrolling the beach via vehicles.
The unit had a full kitchen and there are so many good places to eat (Kill Devil Grill, Owens, Flying Fish Cafe, Colington Cafe, Black Pelican) and the beach is a definite attraction. The beds were comfortable, but you may want your own pillows.
Although the place could be refurbished and updated, we would stay here again, just for the proximity to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

To start off, this is a great place to stay; it has all the necessary amenities, it is located right on the beach, there is a pool and laundry facilities. Overall, it is good; however a few things could be fixed. I found blood stains on the sheets and when we went to cook dinner, we found that most of the dishes had a strange chemical smell and some of the pots and pans were not well cleaned (they had food crust on them.) Nothing a quick run in the dishwasher didn't fix. The whole building is clearly older, along with the appliances and decor, but if you can get past that, the proximity to the beach, the pool, the oceanfront rooms and the value compensate for a bit of grime here and there. Definitely rent here, just bring your own set of sheets.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imapiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We just came back from a family vacation to Kill Devil Hills and stayed at the Golden Strand. While the decor is very dated, it was clean and right on the beach. We had a great view of the ocean with a balcony, 2 bedrooms and a full kitchen. We could walk out to the beach every day and best of all, it was very quiet. No loud neighbors to deal with. When we reeturn ot the Outer Banks, this is where we will stay. The pool was not overused but was very clean. Great place to get a break from the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room on 2nd or 3rd floor. You can see over dunes and see the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrocktonBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have a 3rd floor, 3-bedroom unit as a timeshare, one week a year, in the summer. The amenities are as described by stevenshawnt, with the addition of a 3rd bedroom with twin beds. The unit is always perfectly clean; one of my favorite moments of each year is stepping into the unit on the first day. Our children have grown up visiting each year. I haven't had any issue with the desk staff or the lifeguards on the beach. We love it and now as our family starts to grow with the next generation, we may be looking to rent an additional unit for the same week as our timeshare. I do like to bring my own pillow, but no complaints otherwise on the furnishings.

Room Tip: The third floor units have the best views of the ocean. Study the layout - most units have great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eaglekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We just returned from the Golden Strand yesterday. It is a very nice little resort with a slightly rustic beach-look to it. The resort is pretty well-maintained with really nice rooms. We had a 2 bedroom condo with a beach decor theme. There was a fully-equipped kitchen. The living area had a hide-away bed. The one bedroom had 2 twin beds with no TV. The master bedroom had a TV, private bathroom, and a queen bed. There was another bathroom off the living area. There was a TV in the living area. A breakfast bar and a dining room table made meals an easy access. The resort had a very nice pool. The resort was also right on the beach. Most rooms seemed to have a full to partial ocean view which was great. The ocean was beautiful although more time to cleaning up the beach in front of the resort should be done. Life guards were very rude. We were flying a kite on the beach. When the kite came down on lifeguard threw the string while the other one ran over the string with an ATV with no apologies. The location is near everything you would want to do in the Kill Devil Hills area. Check-in and check-out were easy, but the desk staff acted as though they did not want to be bothered with making us feel welcome. Overall, we would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevenshawnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Strand

Property: The Golden Strand
Address: 1529 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7753
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Golden Strand By Evrentals Hotel Kill Devil Hills
The Golden Strand Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing