We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fries”

Kill Devil's Frozen Custard & Beach Fries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family friendly restaurant where everything is prepared to order including our award winning frozen custard treats .We make it fresh hourly. We also have Juicy Better Burgers , Fresh cut Beach fries , all beef Hotdogs ,N.C. Pulled Pork or Chicken BBQ , and Veggie Burgers .Celebrating our 15th year .
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Fries”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

If you want great fries this is the place to go! Service was fast and they did not make you wait as they prepared other items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    115
    38
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our first stop EVERYTIME”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

When we head to the OBX, this is ALWAYS our first stop. We love this place and our family looks forward to the waffle sundaes. They are amazing. Sometimes there is a wait, but it is always worth it. The staff at the counter always is courteous and quick! LOVELOVELOVE this custard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Fashioned Frozen Custard Delight”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Kill Devil Custard makes authentic cream-based frozen custard the likes of which takes me back to the custard I enjoyed during summers up in Crown Point, NY back in the mid to late 1950's. The custard is rich and creamy and each week in addition to vanilla and chocolate they have a special (creamsicle, peach, blueberry, strawberry, pumpkin, ginger snap, coconut, pistachio...). I prefer cones, but they have all kinds of sundaes and shakes as well. In addition, their burgers are homemade and delicious and their fries are cooked to perfection. It can get quite crowded on almost any summer day but particularly on the weekends, but it is worth waiting in line for a taste treat and for me, a taste trip back in time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good burger, great fries, better shakes”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

As far as burgers go, this place is pretty comparable to Five Guys. Their fries are better than their burgers, but their custard shakes are what make you come back again. I even saw one guy dipping his fries in his custard, best of both worlds? Regardless, I'd highly recommend this place for some better than average food to-go or on their picnic benches...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frugalphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute favorite ice cream”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been coming to the Outer Banks for over 20 years and every time I come here we HAVE to stop at Kill Devil Custard. You can't go wrong with anything you get on the menu. I always have to have an order of fries with the chocolate custard. It's the best and you can even take gallons of the custard back to your beach house for the rest of the week. It does get crowded especially around dinner time but the wait is never too long and the food is definitely worth it. I love it and would absolutely reccomend this place to anyone visiting the Outer Banks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah22092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kill Devil's Frozen Custard & Beach Fries also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Kill Devil's Frozen Custard & Beach Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing