We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kill Devil's Frozen Custard & Beach Fries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: A family friendly restaurant where everything is prepared to order including our award winning frozen custard treats .We make it fresh hourly. We also have Juicy Better Burgers , Fresh cut Beach fries , all beef Hotdogs ,N.C. Pulled Pork or Chicken BBQ , and Veggie Burgers .Celebrating our 15th year .
Clarence, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We look forward to the custard (and fries) during our OBX vacation....staff is friendly and service is great.
Nothing is better than their custard!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    120
    40
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ironton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, so so custard.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Was a little busy when we went. Prices are a little high for what you get. The custard was OK, not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neo1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service but custard is average at best.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

After being underwhelmed by another ice cream place last year, we gave Kill Devils a try this year. I was honestly shocked at how quickly we got our order even though the place was fairly busy. Unfortunately, we were not nearly as impressed with the custard. My wife and I both got the cookie monster sundae which comes with 2 very hard cookies which you can't cut with your spoon, leaving you with the dilemma of how to eat an ice cream covered cookie with your fingers. My son ordered a hurricane (think DQ blizzard). They actually charge you extra to put stuff in it except you get way more stuff in a McDonalds McFlurry. You might think about trying some where else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mi_2_obx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Food is great. We had great burgers and really good fries. The custard was great too. One thing to note: If you are ordering food and custard to eat as a dessert, don't order at the same time. They give you cold things first. It takes a while for the food and we had to eat dessert first to keep it from melting. Not always a bad thing just not my preference. Also, outdoor seating only.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paminpoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and i noticed this place driving by. Eventually the offer of frozen custard was too much to avoid. Happily was fun to eat outside on the picnic tables and the place was very clean. They offer real food made fast and to order. Just the kind of beachy place to add to a fun vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewHartfordWatchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kill Devil's Frozen Custard & Beach Fries also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Kill Devil's Frozen Custard & Beach Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing