We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Go Wrong!”

Kill Devils Frozen Custard & Beach Fries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family friendly restaurant where everything is prepared to order including our award winning frozen custard treats . We also have Juicy Better Burgers , Fresh cut Beach fries , all beef Hotdogs ,N.C. Pulled Pork or Chicken BBQ , and Veggie Burgers .Celebrating our 15th year .
NC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are looking for a frozen treat you just can’t go wrong with this place. We visited this place twice while staying in the OBX and were not disappointed either time. Great frozen custard and normal prices – what you would expect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outdoor328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    112
    38
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not as good as remembered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

was disappointed this year; they only had 3 flavors offered that day.......hard to compete with two new Sweet Frogs down there.
Had a sundae: not enough topping on it. Ended up throwing 1/2 a cup of plain vanilla, no flavor ice cream away.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was our best meal in Kill Devil Hills. At 2pm, a place should not be packed but this one was. One of the better hamburgers I have ever had. French fries were excellent. Want to go back now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chubbywillie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best custard ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

So delicious! Brought our 5 kids after climbing to the top of the Wright Bros. Memorial. It was seriously the best custard I have ever had. Not to mention the Chili cheese fries are phenomenal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommyjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Deserts! Beats DQ any day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friends and I love this place! The prices are not too bad, maybe a little higher than a DQ but not enough to complain about. The custard more than makes up for it! I would try the chocolate but the vanilla is great as well. My wife and I tried the Hurricane which is basically a DQ blizzard and they tasted great. Our friends went with regular custard and they loved it. You can ask for multiple toppings as well just gotta ask but of course they charge for them. I did not try the burgers this place is focused on the custard just by how the menu is set up with the custard at the forefront. There is a pretty decent amount of outdoor seating but the parking is limited. If you go in the evening you can usually park on the side of the street or in the parking lot of the custom car garage on the other side of the road.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thelostpsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kill Devils Frozen Custard & Beach Fries also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Kill Devils Frozen Custard & Beach Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing