We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the middle of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed at the Ramada for 3 nites, 4 days. The hotel was a great bargain. Great location for families with teens because stores and restaurants are within walking distance. The outdoor seating area (lounge chairs and swings) overlooked the beach...the view was amazing! The staff was very friendly and gave us great suggestions for places to eat in the area...would definitely stay again.

My only negative comment is that when we checked into the room the coffee maker had not been cleaned from the previous guest and although the staff did a great job cleaning the room while we were there, they never cleaned the coffee maker our entire stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toyatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyHawktraveler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Dear Toyatravels:

Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to the Outer Banks. We are glad you decided to give us a try. Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction and we are pleased that you received that attention at the front desk. I am sorry you found the cleaning of the coffeemaker overlooked, i can assure you that is not the standard at out hotel.

Thanks again and please think of us on your next visit to the Outer Banks!

Sincerely,
Ariadna Vucinovic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,455 - 2,461 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel was not as nice as I thought when looking on their website. It was clean, but old. The pluses: nice hot showers, free internet, and a great jacuzzi. The negatives: unpleasant check in staff, overpriced, old, dirty pool, not enough luggage carts, and able to hear EVERYTHING from other rooms (thin walls / connecting door). It was my first trip to the OBX and after much research for a nice hotel, I was let down after staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameroncrazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyHawktraveler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Dear cameroncrazie:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry you ran into someone who proved to be unpleasant at our front desk. I can assure you that all your comments will be addressed. We hope the next time you are in the Outer Banks you will give us another shot. We are eager to show you our hospitality.
Thank you,
Ariadna Vucinovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I checked in to the hotel around 4:00PM on July 10th---after a long drive and day on the beach. Very tired--before I could get a shower, I had to remove someone else's wet bathcloths from the shower rod--tells me the CLOTH shower curtain wasn't changed out---the room, other than that was fairly clean, old but clean. We were traveling alone, no kids, and the hotel staff saw fit to plunk us right in the MIDDLE of a group that was rowdy, loud and totally inconsiderate of others, not to mention OBNOXIOUS! The hotel staff ACKNOWLEDGED that they were a problem, and that was it!! The noise level was such that the only relief we got was when the ANCIENT A/C unit kicked on! Finally at 3:30AM after a long night with no sleep, something was thrown from the balcony and sounded like a gunshot...that was it, we got up, dressed, didn't even bother with a shower, checked out at 4:00AM! MISERABLE STAY!

I called the corporate office Monday, July 12th, they were very nice and said that they'd have someone from the property contact us...after not hearing anything, I called back today, July 16 (I was told to do this if I hadn't heard anything by today) and was told that the "hotel staff addressed the noise, which was a TOTAL LIE, and that an email with an apology was sent to us. I had not recieved an email, but in their defense, they had my name spelled incorrectly, which wasn't even close to being a good excuse since they had all my reservation information right in front of them.

Ending the phone call with corporate with a "mam, what do you want!" We are susposedly going to hear from someone else...at some point anyway...guess we'll see.

This is not a cheap hotel by any means.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinakuykendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KittyHawktraveler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Dear tinakuykendall,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry you had a less than pleasant experience.Noise is probably our biggest complaint this time of year and our staff tries to handle each situation with care and respect for all our customers. We are in such an ideal location in the heart of the Outer Banks and it is our wish to keep guests coming back again and again.
Please let us know if you are ever in the area again. We would appreciate if you gave us another try. We'd like the opportunity to show you what a great hotel we have.

Sincerely,
Ariadna Vucinovic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Everything was good about our stay except for one thing: We asked to have 2 senior tickets ordered for the "Lost Colony". For some reason, our credit card was not accepted. We were told someone at the front desk would try the following morning. We told the clerk our story and she tried and was successful in ordering our tickets -- but they weren't senior tickets and we eventually paid a higher price than we wanted. The seats were good and we thoroughly enjoyed the play, we just didn't get what we asked for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponikvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Upon our arrival we were a little mad about the late check-in but the staff made us feel comfortable right away ( we arrived early,and able to check -in). We went straight to our room to figure the quickest way to get our 110 lb Belgium Shepherd and our 105 lb Lab-Rott mix in without to many issues, and we were soooooo happy to find out that all pet rooms are on the first flooor and if that wasn't great enough we had a back door ( when making reservations choose dune view, you won't see the ocean but you will be a happy pet owner) This made all the difference. Pet's can go on the beach before 9am and after 6 pm. We had easy access to the beach, the pool, a sitting area it was wonderful...don,t forget a flashlight for night beach exploring.. the room was clean and a refreshing change of pace from the ones we had to stay in from ohio here. You will enjoy this hotel and so will your pet...

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank luv4doggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I love the beach so you can put me in a shack there and I'd be happy. But this hotel left a lot to be desired. The rooms are dark and dreary and LOUD. You can hear everything - doors, your neighbors, the busy street, ugh. There is a pool with an atrium that gets dreadfully hot in the daytime and there are very few places to sit around it. If you insist on beachfront and all other motels are booked, this hotel is OK. Otherwise check around because there has to be a better place.
Pros: friendly staff, beach, free Wi-Fi
Cons: almost everything else

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplepirategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaServices, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent trip to the Outer Banks and taking the time to comment about our hotel, as your feedback is very important to us. We would also like to assure you that all your comments and issues will be addressed. We are an older property on the beach, but we are working very hard to complete our renovations so that we can improve the comfort of our guest. We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Hotel was old. Rooms had a musty smell to them. Housekeeping took forever to clean our rooms, it took two phone calls to get them to clean it. They did a pour job of cleaning, we had french fries on our floor under the bed and night stand from someone elses previous stay. The doors to the balconies were very difficult to open and the railings were loose and rusty. The floors in the rooms were very dirty, like they haven't been cleaned with a RugDoctor in months. The pool area was nice, but it lacked space in the deck area. The restuarant on-site was nice at night with live music, not sure about the food we didn't eat there. Location was not bad. Close to 158. Had a nice restuarant across the street called Miller's, open for breakfast and dinner only. Great staff and food. Also there was a ice cream shop next to it that served some sandwiches and pizza, a little pricy but very good. Overall the hotel I would not stay there again. Definitely not worth the price. I would stay else where.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessk102601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaServices, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel on your recent trip to the Outer Banks. Your feedback is very important to us and we want you to know thay all your comments and issues will be addressed. We are an older property on the beach, but we are working very hard to complete all of our renovations to improve the comfort and safety of our guests.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Ariadna Vucinovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
481 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
875 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $103 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing