We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I'd stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We chose this hotel because they accepted pets, but, overall, I was happy we selected it.

It is centrally located within the Outer Banks, the staff was very friendly and our room was exactly what you would expect from a Ramada - even better I would say... Our room happened to be one that was facing the ocean. We were on the 1st floor, so it actually faced a sand dune, but that was fine, as we had a dog. When you opened the 2nd door, to the sitting area, there was a nice lawn area for the dog. The sitting area had two chairs & a small table (higher levels had balconies).

The gazebo and porch were great for sitting out (seems you'll need to rent beach chairs during peak season). The beach was really nice.

The restaurant and bar were okay, prices were decent. Bartender was really nice and gave us lots of info about the area. Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate all day (seems they also put out lemonade and ice water as we were departing).

No problems with in room internet access.

If you are comfortable with a Ramada level hotel, I would recommend.

Room Tip: Get an oceanside room, If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the porch - people sit out for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticalbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are glad to see that you brought along your entire family including your pets! Our pet designated rooms are located on the first floor for quick easy access to walk them when needed. We hope you enjoyed fun walks on the beach with them and had a relaxing time. Your comments are important to us and we appreciate the feedback. Please see us again soon and stay in touch:
Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    791
    500
    196
    100
See reviews for
888
797
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights off season in an oceanfront room. This is one of the only major chain hotels on the beach in this part of town. The room was very nice with a door which lead out to a balcony overlooking the ocean. There is a restaurant, Peppercorns that gave us drink specials and dinner specials coupons upon check in. Drinks were not over priced. Off the restaurant is a walkway down to the beach which is very clean and safe. Two blocks off the beach is the main road which goes south towards Hatteras and north towards Corolla. Everything and anything is on that road. You will not be far from restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacies, urgent care centers, and shopping malls. The area is very safe. Beware of tour buses though as the hotel can get rather noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We truly appreciate your kind words about both our hotel services and location. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant and made use of the outdoor deck over-looking the ocean as well. We are in a very central location making it convenient for our guests to experience the Outer Banks. We hope you will return back and stay with us again next time. Please feel free to follow us at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Ramada Plaza has a great location on the beach and represents a solid value. The carpet, fabrics, mattress had clearly been updated and the room was generally clean. However, the bathroom was substandard with fixtures that seemed old and functioned poorly. The room safe did not work. The exterior windows were so dirty that the view of the beach/ocean was entirely obscured (this may have been partly due to recent wind and ocean spray). The indoor pool was very small, the water cloudy, and the pool area unattractive (generally not worth using). The bar had short hours (in late April) so that no beverages were available until 5:00 PM on the outside decks. The restaurant food was substandard and overpriced for the entrees. The reception and housekeeping staff were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for your comments. The unpredictable weather and recent rain has made it difficult to address the exterior windows as quickly as we would like to but rest assured they are monitored often. We thank you for staying with us and do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing