We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, But Stay with Caution!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I'll start with the good.
Great location. Right on the water, not far from souvineir shops, restaurants, etc. I loved the decor, the comforters, the fish tank in the restaurant and lobby, etc. The staff was excellent! When I mentioned the major complaints, the night auditor was excellent. So excellent he gave the room away free!
They have LodgeNet installed, which provides easy access to pay per view movies, games, etc. I thought it was awsome, provided something to do in the evening without having to go back out.

Not so Good.
Sheets had burn holes in them. Bathroom was mildly moldy. "Oceanview" which costs extra, was actual a view of the dune, not the ocean. I would expect for $270 a night to have sheets that weren't burnt, and actually have a view of the ocean. Save the old sheets for off season when rooms are $50 a night!
Hotel is pet friendly, and that's obvious. It was appearant a previous guest had left their dog in the bathroom while they left for a day on the beach, and the dog had attempted an escape. The bathroom door was majorly chipped at the bottom, where the dog had been clawing at it.
The pay per view system they have setup (LodgeNet) provides easy access to porn in the room. I'm an adult, and was staying with another adult, so I wasn't concerned. But for families with children, it could be problamatic.

And it gets worse.
While watching tv with my family, nibbling at some chips, etc, I noticed the bag move. There was a huge roach crawling on the chip bag. I carefully put the bag in the trash bag, tied it up, verified the roach was contained, then took it to the hallway trashcan.
Not 10 minutes later, a much smaller roach made it's appearance, on the same end table as the other one. 2 roaches in 10 minutes. I went down and talked to the night auditor, and he was very understanding. He offered to comp the room, so it turned out ok. The room was supposed to be $270 including tax, and it turned out to only be $9.80 or so, for the pay per view movie. Even with the free room, we found it extremely difficult to sleep. It would have been worth the money to have gotten a good nights rest so I could enjoy the beach the next day.

In summary.
A great location, great staff, but majorly in need of renovations. In all honesty, I would likely stay here again, but not by "choice". I manage a hotel myself, and because of this, I often don't know my schedule until the last minute, as you never know when staff may call in, etc. So when making literally last minute reservations, at a beach, on a busy weekend, you take what you can get. In those circumstances, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StephenBarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,553)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,501 - 2,507 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2008

stayed here last year and decided to stay here again. The first room we were put into had mold all along the top of the wall near the ceiling. We asked the front desk to look into it and they were polite enough to move us to an oceanfront room for our troubles. This room was much nicer until at 3a.m. one morning water started pouring out of the ceiling above our bathtub. We called the front desk and were told the person above us probably did not pull the shower curtain and that caused the water problem. Parts of the ceiling tile were left in the tub after the flood. It wasn't until our maid came around 3p.m. that she called for someone from maintenance to look at it. We found a baby bottle top on the floor from I guess the previous vacationers. We were never supplied with new drinking glasses-we were asked to reuse bath towels. Yes, they made the bed and may have vacuumed but overall, dirty hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Come to this hotel for the location. It is right on the beach, with a lifeguard, and they rent chairs and umbrellas. There is also a beach bar with live music. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and activities.

Make sure you ask for an oceanfront view room - otherwise, your oceanfront room may have you staring at the dunes.

The beds were comfortable. There is a nice fridge and microwave in the room. Overall, it was a quiet hotel.

They allow pets. There were a number of dogs - but none were annoying or loud.

The hotel is old and in need of a renovation and a good scrubbing. Beware of the parrot in the lobby - a friends son got bitten - and had to go get shots at the hospital.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Southerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I took my wife to the Outer Banks for out 21st anniversary. It was the first time that I was there since I was a kid and the first time for my wife. We took our Cocker Spaniel and left our teen age daughters at home. We were late getting there, but everyone was very friendly and they welcomed our dog as much as us. We are already making plans to go back there in the fall for my wife's birthday. Can't wait to get there.

Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Coallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Stayed here in January for 2 nights, it was just a weekend trip that my friend and I wanted to do because we love Nags Head and the winter is really quiet around there, Staff was friendly, room was nice but these are pretty basic accomodations so dont expect like a resort, but it did fine for us and we really only used it to sleep we were out all day both days, we also ate at Mama Kwans just down the street and the food there is so delicious, cheap, and a great atmosphere, Never used the pool so cant comment on those facilities, however did order room service our last night there and food was great and service very fast, Would stay here again and love Nags Head!!!

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank im4everjustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheekt, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2008

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach. It makes us happy that our guests take the time to let others know about their enjoyable stay. We hope to have you as guests at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

While visiting friends in eastern NC during spring break, we decided to go to OBX on the spur of the moment. We got to the Nags Head area after 11:00 pm with no reservations. Too bad I did not get a chance to check with Trip Advisor first. This hotel is in a great area. It is just NOT clean. Our room, especially the bathroom was dirty. Hairy....just gross. I talked to our maid the next morning and told her about the hair in the tub and she assured me that she would clean it. I don't think she touched it at all. I saw two bugs on the floor in our room. Can't say for sure if they were roaches or not but they were bugs none the less. This hotel is pet friendly and that is obvious. The staff cannot even clean up after the humans so imagine how dirty it really is. My kids went for a swim in the indoor pool and it was dirty too. The water was murky and there was sand on the bottom of the pool. They have outdoor showers so you can rinse off after being on the beach before you go into the pool but they did not work. The elevators and the hallways just stink. I am not sure how to describe what it smells like but I can tell you it is not pleasant. I know it is hard to find pet friendly places to stay but do not even let your pet stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dental-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed at this Ramada over Easter weekend. Chose this property specifically because we needed to travel with our small dog. Check in was smooth even though we arrived late, rooms appeared clean and beds comfortable.

Stayed Friday night, didn't sleep well, woke up Saturday with a stiff neck and feeling sick so checked out early and headed for home. I've been deathly ill since. My head, neck and shoulders are covered with insect bites of some sort. The doctors I have been to can't figure out what kind of virus must have been transmitted.

Since we stayed in a pet friendly hotel, in a pets allowed room I can't blame the hotel. But I would say be very careful here. I don't think the bedding and pillows could have been very well cleaned between guests. Luckily the room had two doubles, and I slept alone in one of the beds. No one else on our trip was bitten or feels ill, but I still can't keep food down.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneygirl9064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
482 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $102 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing