We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Customer Service in the OBX, Hands Down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Customer Service in the OBX, Hands Down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a hotel that puts its guests first. No, this hotel is not the nicest hotel with the best amenities, but the outstanding customer service will make you ever forget you're not staying at a 5 star hotel.

We arrived late in the evening on a fully-booked and busy weekend and there was an error with the dates of our reservation (we booked through a third party). The front desk clerk on duty, David, went above and beyond to clear up the mistake even though it was the third party booking agency's fault, staying on the phone for close to an hour with them to get the problem resolved. In addition to fixing the problem and getting us the room we had originally booked, David was courteous and more than happy to help us. In addition, in the 3 days we stayed at the Ramada, we were greeted by every single staff member we encountered and every staff member was more than happy to help accommodate all of our needs.

We will be returning to this hotel again in the future. The rooms are average size, well-maintained and clean. The outdoor common spaces are lovely, offering great views of the ocean. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep at the beach, this is it. You're not going to Nags Head to hang out inside, are you?

Room Tip: 4th floor is the ballroom, if there's a wedding, expect some extra noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments about our staff and accommodations during your recent stay. We will be sure to tell one of our ‘shining stars’ (David) that you appreciated all that he did to correct your reservation confusion. We’re sure you had fun on the beach and while in OBX…. It’s almost impossible not too! We’d love for you to come back again, so in the meantime stay in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    855
    531
    207
    103
See reviews for
945
873
80
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
basking ridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

so... you decide to take a vaca on the OBX. everything on the Northern end (Duck, Corolla etc..) is a 7 bedroom+ rental house. The Mrs. wants to be "on the beach" (non-negotiable). and so you end up at the Ramada Plaza. Do not expect the Ritz or the 4 Seasons or even the Hyatt or the Sheraton. this is a Ramada. BUT...it's on the beach. You walk through the (grungy) swimming pool, past the (grungy) deck and bar, across the boardwalk, slip a couple of $$ to the beach attendant for an umbreall and a couple of chairs et voila, beach time! I can put up with a lot just for that convenience. we did not eat in the hotel. we did not drink in the hotel. we slept in the hotel and used the beach. period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladerunnerelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We’re happy that you and your wife decided to stay with us recently and are confident our oceanfront location and easy access to the beach made it very convenient. We hope you were able to get a glimpse of the dolphins and had a relaxing time on Nags Head Beach. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your visit to OBX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

we arrived late on friday eve for a weekend stay to find that another reservation group had made an error with the reservation. It showed for dates two weeks later. The hotel reservation rep was outstanding. He worked with the reservation group to try to resolve the issue. The hotel was booked at that point but he was able to find a room for us. He went above and beyond to help us.

Everyone at the facility was great and very customer friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
It was our pleasure to have accommodated you that evening and despite the initial mix-up we are glad to see that you enjoyed your time while with us. We’d love for you to return back again and hope you will stay in touch with us at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing