We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family fun, room was way to much for the size.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great family fun, room was way to much for the size.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel staff was great, from the front desk to the house service employees. Great location to the the beach, food, intertainment, and attractions. The only thing was the size of the room for the price. But I would stay here again just because the staff and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    888
    560
    225
    110
See reviews for
996
914
83
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great view of the ocean - sunrise from the balcony was beautiful. I love all the decks and gazebos.
The rooms should be updated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
You are right; nothing beats our OBX sunrise and views from our hotel! We hope you also got to see the dolphins swimming by each day and enjoyed all of our oceanfront amenities. Thanks for staying with us and please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel was excellent. very clean. hotel staff was overly friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that you had to go through the pool room to get to the beach! We were carring chairs, umbrella and towels and there were always kids running and jumping n the pool not to mention trying to get through 2 doors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hi,

We just got back today and this is my first Trip Advisor review. We are a family of four with children ages two and four. I wanted to focus on a few key areas:

Location-This hotel is right on the beach. Kill Devil Hills is a great location to explore the Outer Banks. Wrights Brother Memorial is up the street and nearby things to do include the NC Aquarium, Dolphin Tours, and lighthouses, all about 30 minutes. Corolla, where the ponies are, is about an hour away. Plan accordingly and give yourselves plenty of time to get there.

Value-This is not a 5-star resort with high thread counts on the sheets and the most up-to-date tvs and other amenities. You get a very good value for your money-we wanted an indoor pool and on the beach. The restaurant was very good but is a little pricey. If luxury is a must, you will be disappointed. The hotel had everything we needed-fridge, two beds, balcony, microwave, shower. We were on the second floor and it was convenient to be near the pool and restaurant.

Cleanliness-tip the housekeepers well! Everywhere I looked, someone was mopping the lobby floor; vacuuming the hallways; and tidying our rooms. Our son spilled a drop of milk on the sheets and I wasn't expecting it to be noticed or changed...it was immediately.

Customer service-friendly housekeeping staff. Front desk staff courteous and willing to help. We had cousins drop by for an afternoon and we were told they could visit with no problem.

Complimentary washer/dryer detergent. There is only one, though, so time accordingly!

All in all, we strongly recommend this hotel and would return. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Suggestions/notes:

The bars on the balcony are wide enough that my two-year-old could slip through-a word of caution. We were of course with him the entire time and did not allow him out there afterwards. Other places we have stayed had bars spaced closer together, and I am sure the codes have changed to be more restrictive in recent years.

We loved having a washer and dryer to use...maybe if those need to be replaced down the road, the hotel could get two of each and stack them? It was not a problem for us because we checked throughout the day and were able to use it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are same level as pool and restaurant. We did not find noise to be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel staff were very nice. I was not aware that pet's were allowed in hotel and in rooms. And was told by Asst. Hotel manager that they had no where to put me but on 1st floor with the dogs because of the rate I was paying through my class reunion. And if I refused the room I would have no where to stay after traveling 7 hours. Every-time entered and leaving room dogs jumping @ me. And dog hair throughout hallway and lobby. Lobby was invested with flies. Furniture was very dirty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We appreciate your business and hope you had a nice time at your class reunion gathering. Your group had pre-determined room types selected (not necessarily a location or floor) and we attempted to accommodate all incoming guests as they arrived to check in. Thank you for your feedback and the nice comments about our hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Staff did their best. I especially enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Waitresses were friendly and efficient. I ate omelets every day! delicious!
I could not use my computer in my room. Kept losing the connection.
We held party at hotel for our mother. Staff went over and beyond to please us.
I wil stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your time spent here at our oceanfront hotel. Our staff works hard at providing excellent service and we hope you had time to relax and take advantage of the beach and pool areas. Please give your mother a big ‘Happy Birthday’ from all of us here at the Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My kids and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating when asking questions. The location could not have been better right on the beach. The beach area of the hotel is very well kept and it was nice to be able to go outside and sit on a comfortable chair or swing on the lovely evenings we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing